Mattia Gavazzi Wins 3rd Stage of Malaysia Tour of Langkawi

KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 11, 2009 (AFP) – Italian Mattia Gavazzi of team Diquigiovanni-Androni won the third stage of the Tour de Langkawi Wednesday which ended in the historic Malaysian port city of Malacca.

Australian Chris Sutton from the Garmin Slipstream team took second place.

Gavazzi, the overall race leader, won the 186-kilometre (115.58-mile) stage in four hours, 33 minutes and 29 seconds.

The seven-stage race began in Putrajaya, south of capital Kuala Lumpur, on Monday before heading south. It now heads north to the Genting Highlands, ending on February 15 in Kuala Lumpur.

“I think today I’m in a really good condition with the back-up from my teammates,” Gavazzi said.

“They have been cycling really well in good conditions and have incredible will to win,” he added.

After the Malacca leg comes the longest stage, from the port city to the town of Bangi in central Selangor state, which covers 221.0 kilometres.

By the end of the race, the 20 teams taking part will have covered 1,031.7 kilometres and seven states.

Top 10 places in Stage 3:
1. Mattia Gavazzi (ITA/Diquigiovanni-Androni) 4hr 33min 29sec, 2. Chris
Sutton (AUS/Garmin Slipstream) s.t., 3. Aurélien Clerc (SUI/AG2r LA Mondiale)
s.t., 4. Nolan Hoffman (RSA/South Africa National Team) s.t., 5. Denys Kostyuk
(UKR/ISD) s.t., 6. René Haselbacher (AUT/Vorarlberg-Corratec) s.t., 7. Hilton
CLARKE (AUS/Fuji-Servetto) s.t., 8. Igor Abakoumov (BEL/ISD) s.t., 9. Samai
(INA/Letua Cycling Team) s.t., 10. Yohann Gene (FRA/Bbox Bouygues Telecom) s.t.

Top 10 places overall:
1. Mattia Gavazzi (ITA/Diquigiovanni-Androni) 11hr 21min 54sec, 2. Chris
Sutton (AUS/ Garmin Slipstream) 11hr 22min 12sec, 3. Nolan Hoffman (RSA/South
Africa National Team) 11r 22min 14sec, 4. Ricardo Van Der Velde (NED/Garmin
Slipstream) s.t., 5. Alexandr Pliuschin (MDA/AG2r La Mondiale) 11hr 22min
15sec, 6. Aurélien Clerc (SUI/AG2r LA Mondiale) 11r 22min 16sec, 7. Dmitriy
Gruzdev (KAZ/Kazakhstan National Team) 11hr 22min 17sec, 8. Christian Meier
(CAN/Garmin Slipstream) 11hr 22min 23sec, 9. Roman Zhiyentayev (KAZ/Kazakhstan
National Team) s.t., 10. Hossein Nateghi (IRI/Iran National Team) 11hr 22min