Paris-Roubaix – The Insiders Guide

The route: 259 km. Departure at Compiegne at 10:35. Arrival at Roubaix (velodrome) by 1700.

Twenty-seven paved areas with a total length of 52.9 km installments from Troisvilles (Km 98). Refueling at Solesmes (Km 115.5) and Beuvry-la-Foret (km 191).

Passages in Arenberg (km 164), Mons-en-Pévèle (210 km) and Carrefour de l’Arbre (km 242). On the velodrome, the riders have to make the distance from the entrance to the velodrome to the finish line (300 m), then a full turn (500 m).

Participation: 25 teams.
Quick Step, Acqua e Sapone team, AG2R, Androni, BMC, Bbox, Caisse d’Epargne, Cervélo, Cofidis, Columbia, Euskaltel, French Games, Garmin, Katusha, Lampre, Liquigas, Milram, Omega Pharma, Rabobank, RadioShack, Saur Sojasun-Saxo Bank, Skil, Sky Vacansoleil

Favorites: Fabian Cancellara (SUI), Tom Boonen (BEL), Matti Breschel (DEN), Juan Antonio Flecha (ESP), Filippo Pozzato (ITA), Stijn Devolder (BEL), George Hincapie (USA), Leif Hoste (BEL ), Stuart O’Grady (AUS), Bjorn Leukemans

The major absentees: Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR), Sylvain Chavanel (FRA), Philippe Gilbert (BEL), Lance Armstrong (USA), Alberto Contador (ESP)

Price: 91,000 euros, 30,000 for the winner

Victories: 107 editions played since the inception of the event in 1896. 53 wins for Belgium, 30 France, 11 Italy, 5 from the Netherlands, 2 from Ireland and Switzerland, 1 from Australia, Germany, Luxembourg, Russia and Sweden (two tied in 1949).

Record Wins: 4 Roger De Vlaeminck (BEL) between 1972 and 1977

The last ten winners:
2000: Johan Museeuw (BEL)
2001: Servais Knaven (NED)
2002: Johan Museeuw (BEL)
2003: Peter Van Petegem (BEL)
2004: Magnus Backstedt (SWE)
2005: Tom Boonen (BEL)
2006: Fabian Cancellara (SUI)
2007: Stuart O’Grady (AUS)
2008: Tom Boonen (BEL)
2009: 1. Tom Boonen (BEL)
2. Filippo Pozzato (ITA)
3. Thor Hushovd (NOR)
4. Leif Hoste (BEL)
5. Johan Van Summeren (BEL)

The best French places:
2000: Frédéric Guesdon 17th
2001: Christophe Mengin 17th
2002: Thierry Gouvenou 7th
2003: 12th Frédéric Guesdon
2004: Frédéric Guesdon 18th
2005: Florent Brard 7th
2006: Frédéric Guesdon 7th
2007: Stephane Poulhiès 22nd
2008: Frédéric Guesdon 11th
2009: Sylvain Chavanel 8th