Evans Named Australian Cyclist Of The Year

SYDNEY, Nov 12, 2011 (AFP) – Tour de France winner Cadel Evans was named
the Australian cyclist of the year at an awards ceremony in Sydney, the fourth
time he has claimed the coveted gong.

Evans, 34, made history when he became the first Australian to win the race
in July and in recognition of his achievement was awarded the Sir Hubert
Opperman medal at the ceremony late Friday.

Evans, who became Australia’s first world road race champion in 2009, also
received the Australian honour in 2006, 2007 and 2009.

He has ruled out competing at Australia’s Tour Down Under in January as he
looks at aiming for world and Olympic glory as well as defending his yellow
Tour de France jersey.