Anna Meares Wins Australian Cyclist Of The Year Award

SYDNEY, Nov 10, 2012 – Olympic and world champion Anna Meares has
capped a triumphant 2012 by being named the Australian cyclist of the year at
a ceremony in Sydney late Friday.

Meares, 29, won the Sir Hubert Opperman Medal as the country’s cyclist of
the year, as well as the people’s choice award and the women’s track category.

Meares confirmed her status as the top women’s sprinter on the track when
she beat British arch-rival Victoria Pendleton for the sprint gold medal at
the London Games.

She also scored world titles in the time trial and keirin this year.
It was the second time Meares had claimed the award following her win in

Meares is on an extended sabbatical and has yet to decide whether she will
ride on to the 2016 Rio Olympics.