Haller Wins Tour of Beijing Stage Four

BEIJING, Oct 12, 2012 – Marco Haller won the fourth stage of the Tour
of Beijing on Friday in his first professional victory, though 2011 champion
Tony Martin retained the overall lead with just one leg to go.

Haller, a 21-year-old Austrian racing for Katusha Team, had a late burst to
overtake Italian Alessandro Petacchi of Lampre-ISD Team, who had sprinted
toward the finish line.

Behind them in third was Stage One winner Italian Elia Viviani for
Liquigas-Cannondale team.

“With a final like this it’s also like a casino. You have to be in the
right moment in the right spot,” Haller said. “Today I had the luck, I had
good legs, everything came together.”

Haller and Petacchi both moved up one place after Thursday’s round to 87th
and 77th, respectively.

Martin, who races for Omega Pharma-QuickStep, remains in a strong position
to defend the title he won last year at China’s first World Tour calendar

With overall rankings and timings unchanged on Thursday, the 27-year-old
German enters the final leg on Saturday with a 40-second lead over Italian
Francesco Gavazzi, who races for the Astana team and won Stage 3 on Thursday.

Martin won the second phase on Wednesday after dominating for most of the
tour and cruising across the finishing line with a strong lead of 46 seconds.

He took silver in the men’s individual time trial at the Olympics this year.

Friday’s race started at Yanqing near the Great Wall northwest of the
capital and finished 165.5 kilometers (102 miles) later at Changping Stadium
north of the city center.

The tour of Beijing is the final event of the season.

Results from the fourth stage of the Tour of
Beijing on Friday:

1. Marco Haller (AUT/Katusha Team) 3hr 35min 39secs
2. Alessandro Petacchi (ITA/Lampre-ISD) same time
3. Elia Viviani (ITA/Liquigas-Cannondale) same time
4. Lucas Sebastian Haedo (ARG/Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank) same time
5. Daniele Bennati (ITA/RadioShack-Nissan) same time
6. Francesco Chicchi (ITA/Omega Pharma-Quick Step) same time
7. Klaas Lodewyck (BEL/BMC Racing Team) same time
8. Allan Davis (AUS/Orica-GreenEdge) same time
9. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/Team Sky) same time
10. Dominique Rollin (CAN/FDJ-BigMat) same time

Overall classification after stage four:

1. Tony Martin (GER/Omega Pharma-Quick Step) 13hr 11min 31secs
2. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA/Astana Pro Team) at 40 secs
3. Daniel Martin (IRL/Garmin-Sharp) at 50 secs
4. Edvald Boasson-Hagen (NOR/Sky Procycling) at 52 secs
5. Eros Capecchi (ITA/Liquigas-Cannondale) at 52 secs
6. Rinaldo Nocentini (ITA/AG2R La Mondiale) at 56 secs
7. Tomasz Marczynski (POL/Vacansoleil-DCM Procycling) at 56 secs
8. Rafal Majka (POL/Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Team) at 56 secs
9. Rui Alberto Costa (POR/Movistar Team) at 1-00
10. Tim Wellens (BEL/Lotto-Belisol Team) at 1-00