Chris Froome Wins The Tour of Oman For Team Sky

Tour of Oman

Tour of Oman

Chris Froome of Britain won the Tour of
Oman on Saturday, last year’s Tour de France runner-up beating two previous
winners of cycling’s blue riband, Alberto Contador and Cadel Evans.

The Sky star, who took possession of the leader’s red jersey on Thursday,
had a 27 second advantage over Spain’s Contador in the overall standings with
Australia’s Evans 39s away in third.

Saturday’s sixth and final stage, a 144km ride from Hawit Nagam park in the
south of the emirate to Muscat along the Matrah corniche, was won by France’s
Nacer Bouhanni.

He finished clear in a sprint from Australia’s Matthew Goss and USA rider
Taylor Phinney.

“It’s been an incredibly successful week for us this week. The team has
rallied around me all the way and having guys of the caliber of Bradley
Wiggins helping you to win a race makes it a hell of a lot easier to be up
there when the going gets tough,” said Froome.

“This is still very early days at the moment and early on in the season.
This was a preparation event and a good test to see how the winter training
has gone so far.

“I’m quite confident that I’m on track at the moment and right where I need
to be with my preparations in view of being ready at 100 per cent for the Tour
de France.”

Results after the sixth and final stage of the Tour of Oman on Saturday, a 144 kilometre stage from Hawit Nagam park
to Muscat:

1. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/FDJ) 3hr 24min 20sec, 2. Matthew Goss (AUS) s.t., 3.
Taylor Phinney (USA) s.t., 4. Elia Viviani (ITA) s.t., 5. Borut Bozic (SLO)
s.t., 6. Daryl Impey (RSA) s.t., 7. Tom Boonen (BEL) s.t., 8. Danny Van Poppel
(NED) s.t., 9. Blaz Jarc (SLO) s.t., 10. Marco Coledan (ITA) s.t.
18. Cadel Evans (AUS) s.t., 31. Christopher Froome (GBR) s.t., 51. Alberto
Contador (ESP) s.t., 58. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) s.t., 81. Fabian Cancellara
(SUI) at 38, 126. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) 4:00.

Overall standings
1. Christopher Froome (GBR/Sky) 23hr 28min 33sec, 2. Alberto Contador (ESP)
at 27s, 3. Cadel Evans (AUS) 39, 4. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) 50, 5. Rinaldo
Nocentini (ITA) 1:13, 6. Johann Tschopp (SUI) s.t, 7. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)
1:19, 8. Kenny Elissonde (FRA) 1:34, 9. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA) 1:44, 10.
Maxime Bouet (FRA) 1:57.
21. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) 3:04, 42. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) 11:46, 68.
Taylor Phinney (USA) 19:30, 74. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) 22:46, 83. Tom Boonen
(BEL) 26:17