Parisien Wins Catalonia Stage 5, As Martin Extends Overall Lead


MADRID, March 22, 2013 (AFP) – Canadian Francois Parisien won the fifth
stage of the Tour of Catalonia on Friday as Ireland’s Daniel Martin extended
his overall lead.

Parisien of the Argos-Shimano team took the stage honours on the line as 13
riders finished the 156 kilometre ride from Rialp to Lleida to a time of three
hours thirty-two minutes and two seconds.

However, Martin was the real winner of the day as he gained a bonus second
by finishing third in a sprint and then gained three more seconds on
second-placed Joaquim Rodriguez in the dash to the line to extend his
advantage to 14 seconds with just two stages remaining.

After two gruelling days of climbing through the Pyrenees, Friday’s more
manageable stage saw the riders finish nearly 500m lower in Lleida than they
began in Rialp.

Just after the 50km mark though Olivier Kaisen (Lotto) and Tristan Valentin
(Cofidis) made a break and quickly built up nearly a four minute advantage,
with the peloton catching them with about 15km to go.

The big names then began to bunch together as last year’s Tour de France
winner Bradley Wiggins briefly led Team Sky to the front of the pack.

In an incredibly tight finish Parisien surged towards the line to take his
first stage victory of the season.

Martin came in along with the leading group with Rodriguez in the group of
seven just three seconds behind.

Results after Friday’s fifth stage of the
Tour of Catalonia, a 156 km ride from Rialp to Lleida:

1. Francois Parisien (CAN/ARG) 3hr 32min 02sec, 2. Samuel Dumoulin
(FRA/ALM) at same time, 3. Stephane Poulhies (FRA/COF) s.t., 4. Daniele Ratto
(ITA/CAN) s.t., 5. Danilo Wyss (SUI/BMC) s.t., 6. Andrew Fenn (GBR/OPQ) s.t.,
7. Gianni Meersman (BEL/OPQ) s.t., 8. Maurits Lammertink (NED/VCD) s.t., 9.
Daniel Martin (IRL/GRM) s.t., 10. Thomas Damuseau (FRA/ARG) s.t., 11. Julien
Simon (FRA/SOJ) s.t., 12. Brett Lancaster (AUS/OGE) s.t., 13. Pim Ligthart
(NED/VCD) s.t., 14. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA/AST) 0:03, 15. Jean-Lou Paiani
(FRA/SOJ) 0:03

1. Daniel Martin (IRL/GRM) 22h 20min 39sec, 2. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT)
at 14sec, 3. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 42, 4. Bradley Wiggins (GBR/SKY) 46, 5.
Michele Scarponi (ITA/LAM) 47, 6. Robert Gesink (NED/BLA) 59, 7. Przemyslaw
Niemiec (POL/LAM) 1:10, 8. Peter Stetina (USA/GRM) 1:17, 9. Thibaut Pinot
(FRA/FDJ) 1:23, 10. Jurgen Van den Broeck (BEL/LTB) 1:25