Peter Sagan Takes Sprint Stage 8, Mathias Frank In Yellow

BAD RAGAZ, Switzerland, June 15, 2013 (AFP) – Slovakian rider Peter Sagan,
of the Cannondale team, won a sprint finish to take the eighth stage of the
Tour of Switzerland on Saturday with home star Mathias Frank keeping the
yellow jersey.

Sagan, who had also won Monday’s third stage, was the strongest over the
last few meters of the 180.5km run from Zernez and Bad Ragaz.

He finished ahead of Italy’s Daniele Bennati and Philippe Gilbert of

“I have to thank all my teammates for the amazing work they did to build
this win,” said Sagan.

“Today we knew was a great opportunity. The third category climb was the
decisive point to get an orderly sprint.

“It’s one step further for the Tour de France and my form is improving.”

Frank has a 13-second lead over Portugal’s Rui Costa and 23-second
advantage over Czech rider Roman Kreuziger ahead of Sunday’s concluding time
trial in the village of Flumserberg.

For Sagan, it was his eighth career stage win on the race with two coming
in 2011 and four last year.

One of the day’s biggest losers was Australia’s Cameron Meyer who was
forced to stop to change a wheel.

The Orica GreenEdge rider slipped from eighth to 10th place in the overall
standings with a 2 min 09 sec deficit.

Results from the eighth stage
of the Tour of Switzerland, a 180.5km run from Zernez to Bad Ragaz on Saturday:

Stage 8
1. Peter Sagan (SVK/CAN) 4hr 33min 26sec, 2. Daniele Bennati (ITA/SAX)
s.t., 3. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/BMC) s.t., 4. Michael Albasini (SUI/ORI) s.t.,
5. Christophe Riblon (FRA/ALM) s.t. 6. Martin Elmiger (SUI/IAM) s.t. ,7.
Peter Velits (SVK/OPQ) s.t., 8. Julien Simon (FRA/SOJ) s.t., 9. Maxime Monfort
(BEL/RSH) s.t., 10. Simon Geschke (GER/ARG) s.t.

1. Mathias Frank (SUI/BMC) 30 hr 16min 02sec, 2. Rui Costa (POR/MOV) at
0:13s, 3. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/SAX) 0:23. 4. Thibaut Pinot (FRA/FDJ) 0:44, 5.
Bauke Mollema (NED/BLA) 0:46, 6. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 1:17, 7. Daniel
Martin (EIR/GRM) 1:23, 8. Tanel Kangert (EST/AST) 1:43, 9. Simon Spilak
(SLO/KAT) 1:50, 10. Cameron Meyer (AUS/ORI) 2:09

51. Peter Sagan (SVK/CAN) 29:29, 52. Philippe Gilbert (BEL/BMC) 29:53.