Sagan Keeps Wining At The Tour of Oman

Tour of Oman

Tour of Oman

WADI DAYQAH DAM, Oman, Feb 13, 2013 – Slovakia’s Peter Sagan of the
Cannondale team won a second consecutive stage on the Tour of Oman on
Wednesday to strengthen his grip on the overall race leader’s red jersey.

Sagan emerged victorious on the 190km third stage from Nakhal Fort to Wadi
Dayqah Dam in the Hajar mountains.

In the same spot where he claimed his first win for Cannondale a year ago,
Sagan beat Belgium’s Greg Van Avermaet of BMC and France’s Tony Gallopin of
RadioShack to take victory on the line by one second with Alberto Contador a
close fourth.

Sagan, who won three stages on last year’s Tour de France, sits 16 seconds
ahead of Gallopin in the overall standings but knows he faces a tough hilly
fourth stage where Italian Vincenzo Nibali triumphed last year.

“Tomorrow (Thursday), the victory will be for someone else, not for me,” he
said after receiving the leaders red jersey as well as the green for points
and white for best young rider.

A strong field in Oman is headed by last year’s Tour de France winner
Bradley Wiggins, and also features his Sky team-mate Chris Froome, as well as
the likes of Tom Boonen, Cadel Evans, Fabian Cancellara and Contador.

Saxo rider Contador is expected to battle with Nibali amongst others for
stage four honors and the race remains wide open with Britain’s Froome and
Australian Evans also still in with a chance.

However Wiggins’ appears out of the running now after losing 1min 37sec on
stage three while last year’s winner, Spaniard Joaquim Rodriguez also lost
59secs in his faltering defense.

The British Olympic champion is now a distant 3min 29sec adrift in the
overall standings and facing a monumental challenge to get back amongst the

Thursday’s fourth stage is a 152.5km ride through the mountains from Al
Satiyah to the finish line at the peak of a stiff climb at Jabal Al Akhdar.

The six-stage race concludes on Saturday.

Results after the third stage
of the Tour of Oman on Wednesday, a 190km ride from Fort Nakhal to the Wadi
Dayqua Dam.

1. Peter Sagan (SVK/Cannondale) 5hr 6min 28secs, 2. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL)
at 1sec, 3. Tony Gallopin (FRA) s.t., 4. Albert Contador (ESP) s.t., 5. Marco
Marcato (ITA) s.t., 6. Andrea Pasqualon (ITA) 4, 7. Philippe Gilbert (BEL)
s.t., 8. Rinaldo Nocentini (ITA) s.t., 9. Peter Velits (SVK) s.t., 10. Nacer
Bouhanni (FRA) s.t.

12. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) s.t., 13. Christopher Froome (GBR) 36, 18.
Fabian Cancellara (SUI), 24. Cadel Evans (AUS) s.t., 41. Joaquim Rodriguez
(ESP) 1min 29sec, 76. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) 3min 29sec, 91. Tom Boonen (BEL)
4min 30sec

1. Peter Sagan (SVK/Cannondale)12hr 59min 43sec, 2. Tony Gallopin (FRA) at
16, 3. Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) 26, 4. Martin Elmiger (SUI) 30, 5. Nacer
Bouhanni (FRA) 31, 6. Marco Marcato (ITA) 32, 7. Alberto Contador (ESP) s.t.,
8. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) 33, 9. Peter Velits (SVK) 35, 10. Andrea Pasqualon
(ITA) s.t,

12. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) s.t., 13. Christopher Froome (GBR) 36, 18.
Fabian Cancellara (SUI) 40, 25. Cadel Evans (AUS) s.t, 41. Joaquim Rodriguez
(ESP) 1min 29sec, 42. Taylor Phinney (USA) 1min 48sec, 76. Bradley Wiggins
(GBR) 3min 29sec