Sagan Wins The Second Stage In Tour of Oman And Takes Overall Lead

Tour of Oman

Tour of Oman

AL BUSTAN, Oman, Feb 12, 2013 (AFP) – Slovakia’s Peter Sagan won the second
stage of the Tour of Oman on Tuesday and moved into the overall lead,
following a 146km ride from Fanja in Bidbid to Al Bustan.

The 23-year-old Cannondale rider broke free from the pack in the final
kilometre to finish 5secs in front of Frenchman Tony Gallopin and Swiss rider
Martin Elmiger.

Sagan, a three-time stage winner on the Tour de France last year, holds an
overall lead of 9secs on Gallopin with Elmiger a further two seconds back.

Last year’s Tour de France winner Bradley Wiggins is 1min 42sec behind
Sagan, after losing an appeal against his last place finish in Monday’s
opening stage.

Wiggins, also the Olympic time-trial champion, was delayed by a pile-up in
the last few kilometres of the 162km stage and came in 1min 30sec adrift of
the leaders.

Team Sky were confident they would win an appeal on the basis that
according to rules governing crashes, he should be awarded the same time as
those riders he was riding with, when he was within the closing 3km of the

However, organisers decided that because Wiggins’ was with several Sky
teammates that eventually caught the leading group, he had the chance to catch
up and should not be reclassified, meaning he will keep his original time.

Former Tour de France winners Alberto Contador of Spain and Australian
Cadel Evans are both 11sec behind Sagan in the stage and overall standings.

The six-stage race continues Wednesday with the third stage over 190km
between Nakhal Fort and Wadi Dayqah Dam, which features a profile that will
again suit the likes of attacking riders like Sagan

Results after second stage of the
Tour of Oman on Monday, a 146km ride from Fanja to Bindad to Al Bustan.

1. Peter Sagan (SVK/Cannondale) 3hr 48min 36sec, 2. Tony Gallopin (FRA) at
5sec, 3. Martin Elmiger (SUI) s.t., 4. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) s.t., 5. Zdenek
Stybar (CZE) 7, 6. Christopher Froome (GBR) s.t., 7. Marco Bandiera (ITA)
s.t., 8. Marco Marcato (ITA) 11, 9. Daryl Impey (RSA) s.t., 10. Nacer Bouhanni
(FRA) s.t.

24. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) s.t., 26. Philippe Gilbert (BEL) s.t., 29.
Alberto Contador (ESP) s.t., 32. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) s.t., 41. Cadel Evans
(AUS) s.t., 46. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) s.t., 74. Tom Boonen (BEL) 1min 47sec

1. Peter Sagan (SVK) 7hr 53min 25sec, 2. Tony Gallopin (FRA) at 9sec, 3.
Martin Elmiger (SUI) 11, 4. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) 15, 5. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA)
17, 6. Christopher Froome (GBR) s.t., 7. Zdenek Stybar (CZE), s.t., 8. Stijn
Vandenbergh (BEL) 21, 9. Marco Bandiera (ITA) s.t., 10. Peter Velits (SVK) s.t.

18. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) s.t., 24. Alberto Contador (ESP) s.t., 26.
Philippe Gilbert (BEL) s.t., 36. Cadel Evans (AUS) s.t., 41. Joaquim Rodriguez
(ESP) s.t., 55. Bradley Wiggins (GBR) 1min 42sec, 63. Tom Boonen (BEL) 1min