Thor Hushovd Powers To Stage Five Win In Tour of Poland


ZAKOPANE, Poland, Aug 01, 2013 – Norway’s Thor Hushovd powered to a
sprint victory on the 160.5km fifth stage of the Tour of Poland from Nowy Targ
to Zakopane on Thursday.

The 2010 world champion emerged triumphant ahead of Frenchman Matthieu
Ladagnous and Italy’s Luka Mezgec in a cagey uphill sprint to earn his second
victory in three days as BMC triumphed for a third straight stage.

Euskaltel-Euskadi rider Jon Izaguirre moved into the overall lead, one
second in front of Poland’s Rafal Majka, after the Spaniard collected a
10-second time bonus for topping the stage’s attractivity classification.

Sky’s Colombian rider Sergio Henao, who is being helped by last year’s Tour
de France winner Bradley Wiggins on his return to racing after injury and
illness, is 5sec adrift in third.

Friday’s penultimate stage will see riders tackle a 192km route around

Stage 5:
1. Thor Hushovd (NOR/BMC) 3hr 54min 17sec, 2. Matthieu Ladagnous (FRA/FDJ)
s.t., 3. Daniele Ratto (ITA/CAN) s.t., 4. Luka Mezgec (SLO/ARG) s.t., 5. David
Tanner (AUS/BEL) s.t.

Overall standings:
1. Jon Izaguirre Insausti (ESP/EUS) 25hr 49min 41sec, 2. Rafal Majka
(POL/SAX) at 1sec, 3. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 0:05, Christophe Riblon (FRA/ALM)
0:07, 5. Pieter Wenning (NED/OGE) 0:08