Three British Stages To Open Tour de France 2014

Tour de France

Tour de France

PARIS, Jan 17, 2013 – The 2014 Tour de France will start with a stage
between Leeds and Harrogate in the northern English county of Yorkshire on
July 5, organisers of cycling’s most prestigious and gruelling race announced
on Thursday.

As will be the case for the 2013 edition, Tour director Christian Prudhomme
again opted against a traditional time-trial or prologue opener which favours
the sprinters of the peloton.

The second 200km stage in 2014 will begin in York and end in the southern
Yorkshire city of Sheffield.

The Tour will then travel from the university city of Cambridge in eastern
England to London for the third 170km stage on July 7, passing through the
Olympic Park in the east of the British capital to finish at the Mall, in the
shadow of Buckingham Palace.

“In its 110 years, the Tour will depart for a second time from Great
Britain, but it’s a second time in seven years, proof of the development of
cycling in the United Kingdom,” said Prudhomme.

The remaining stages of the 2014 Tour will be revealed in Paris on October

Some one million people lined the streets when the Tour last crossed the
Channel from France in 2007, when the prologue was held in London and a stage
from the British capital to the southeastern city of Canterbury.

Before that, the race visited in 1974 and 1994, both times in and around
the southern English coast, which is the closest part of Britain to mainland

The 2013 edition of the race — the 100th edition — starts for the first
time on the French Mediterranean island of Corsica, with British rider Bradley
Wiggins in the saddle as defending champion after becoming the first Briton to
win the Tour.