2014 Women’s Prestige Series Adds Gateway Cup


Series will be a partnership with the Women’s Cycling Association

Minneapolis, March 26, 2014 – The 11th Annual Women’s Prestige Cycling Series has added The Staenber Group Gateway Cup, a four-criterium omnium that will be the Series grand finale on Labor Day Weekend, August 28 – September 1. This is the first criterium omnium to become part of the Series and will give criterium-focused teams and chance to shine. It will also extend the Series into September, encompassing the full cycling season, instead of ending in the middle of July, as it has the past few years.

“The four-day Staenberg Group Gateway Cup criterium-based omnium is an exciting event,” said Mike Weiss, Staenber Group Gateway Cup Promoter. “We are honored to showcase the women’s field as the grand finale event of the Women’s Prestige Series.”

The full 2014 Women’s Prestige Cycling Series will be:

Redlands Bicycle Classic, April 2-6
North Star Grand Prix (formerly Nature Valley Grand Prix), June 11-15
Bend Memorial Clinic Cascade Cycling Class, July 11-15
The Staenberg Group Gateway Cup, August 28 – September 1

Redlands, North Star and Cascade are part of the USA Cycling National Racing Calendar while the Gateway Cup is part of the USA Cycling National Criteirum Calendar.

The Series will partner with the newly formed Women’s Cycling Association. Together they seek to showcase women’s racing and generate greater media coverage by giving women a spotlight they don’t have to share with the men.

“We are thrilled to be partnering with the Women’s Prestige Series to support the growth of women’s cycling through this dedicated women’s series,” said Robin Farina, President Women’s Cycling Association.

The Series is entering its 11th year. It includes competitions for individuals, best young riders (age 25 and under), sprinters and teams. Leader’s jerseys for the first three classifications will be provided by Podiumwear. The Series offers cash prizes and travel subsidies. There is no entry fee, but teams must register before they can start accumulating points. Teams that miss one Series event will remain eligible for the cash prizes, but will not receive the travel stipends. Teams that miss two Series events will be disqualified.