Andre Greipel Takes Stage Win, Cadel Evans Retains Lead


ADELAIDE, Australia, Jan 24, 2014 (AFP) – Germany’s Andre Greipel blitzed
his rivals to win the fourth stage of the Tour Down Under Friday as Cadel
Evans saw his overall lead slip to just seven seconds.

Greipel had too much speed for the rest of the field on the final sprint
into Victor Harbor to win by over two bike lengths.

The stage win was Greipel’s 15th at the season-opening UCI World Tour
event, but his first this year.

The German said the 2014 race course hadn’t suited the sprinters, so he had
to take his chances when he could.

“I think this was actually the first opportunity for sprinters today,”
Greipel said.

Greipel’s Lotto-Belisol teammate, Jurgen Roelandts, finished second ahead
of Italian Elia Viviani (Cannondale), with Simon Gerrans (Orica GreenEdge)
coming in fourth.

Former Tour de France winner Evans finished in the leading group of 50
riders to retain the ochre leader’s jersey, although fellow Australian Gerrans
closed the gap to seven seconds after picking up time bonuses on the two
intermediate sprints.

The 148.5-kilometre (92-mile) stage from Unley in inner-city Adelaide to
the seaside town of Victor Harbor was comparatively flat and tailor-made for
the sprinters.

A group of five riders broke clear early, but when they began to slow
Frenchman Axel Domont (FDJ) and Australia’s Cameron Wurf (Cannondale) launched
an attack, at one stage getting over four and half minutes clear.

However, in a familiar pattern at the Tour Down Under, the main peloton
began to pick up the pace on the approach to the King of the Mountain climb at
Myponga, and soon after they passed the summit the leaders were reeled in.

The course then took the riders along a ridge top and, with strong cross
winds causing havoc, Orica GreenEdge made a decisive move which split the
peloton in two for the last 25 kilometres (16 miles).

Greipel’s Lotto-Belisol team reacted superbly to the move, with six of
their seven riders in the front group.

However, Greipel’s main sprint rival, fellow German Marcel Kittel, missed
out and was left languishing in the second group 13 minutes behind the leaders.

Omega Pharma-QuickStep pair Jan Bakelants and Serge Pauwels attacked with
four kilometres to go and had some hope of staying away but they were caught
inside the last kilometre, leaving the race open for the sprinters.

Greipel’s teammates led him out superbly and once the big German began to
accelerate there was no stopping him.

“I think we (Lotto-Belisol) finished first and second which says enough —
it was a real team effort today,” Greipel said.

“We survived the attack by GreenEdge in the cross-wind with six guys so we
could put the pressure on.

“It makes me really happy that we finally got the win.”

Friday’s 151.5-kilometre (94-mile) stage from McLaren Vale to Willunga
includes two climbs up Willunga Hill and should suit Evans more than his rival

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Results after the 148.5-kilometre
(92-mile) fourth stage of the Tour Down Under from Unley to Victor Harbor in
South Australia on Friday.

1. Andre Greipel (GER/Lotto-Belisol) 3hr 33min 7sec
2. Jurgen Roelandts (BEL/Lotto Belisol) same time
3. Elia Viviani (ITA/Canondale) s.t.
4. Simon Gerrans (AUS/Orica GreenEdge) s.t.
5. Nathan Haas (AUS/Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
6. Daryl Impey (RSA/Orica GreenEdge) s.t
7. Maxime Bouet (FRA/AG2R La Mondiale) s.t.
8. Nikolay Trusov (RUS/Tinkoff-Saxo) s.t.
9. Anthony Roux (FRA/FDJ) s.t.
10. Francesca Gavazzi (ITA/Astana) s.t.
13. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC Racing) s.t.
16. Geraint Thomas (GBR/Team Sky) s.t.
23. Richie Porte (AUS/Team Sky) s.t.
50. Frank Schleck (LUX/Trek Factory Racing) s.t.
99. Javier Morena (ESP/Movistar) +13.55

General classification
1. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC Racing) 14hr 19min 46sec
2. Simon Gerrans (AUS/Orica GreenEdge) at 7 seconds
3. Diego Ulissi (ITA/Lampre-Merida) +14
4. Nathan Haas (AUS/Garmin-Sharp) +23
5. Robert Gesink (BEL/Belkin) +29
6. Geraint Thomas (GBR/Team Sky) s.t.
7. Daryl Impey (RSA/Orica GreenEdge) +33
8. Brent Bookwalter (USA/BMC Racing) s.t
9. Rory Sutherland (AUS/Tinkoff-Saxo) s.t
10. Richie Porte (AUS/Team Sky) s.t
20. Frank Schleck (LUX/Trek Factory Racing) +1.18
48. Andre Greipel (GER/Lotto-Belisol) +6.53
65. Javier Moreno (ESP/Movistar) +15.47

King of the Mountain
1. Adam Hansen (AUS/Lotto-Belisol) 24 points
2. Axel Domont (FRA/Ag2R La Mondiale) 22 points
3. William Clarke (AUS/Drapac) 20 points

1. Simon Gerrans (AUS/Orica GreenEdge) 62 points
2. Diego Ulissi (ITA/Lampre-Merida) 42 points
3. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC Racing) 35 points