Aussies, Kiwis Take World Team Track Titles


CALI, Colombia, Feb 27, 2014 (AFP) – Australia defended the men’s team
pursuit title, while New Zealand dethroned defending champion Germany to win
the men’s team sprint crown at the World Track Cycling Championships on

The Aussies kept their crown by rallying in the last half to the race to
defeat Denmark in the final.

Glenn O’Shea, Alexander Edmonson, Mitchell Mulhern and Miles Scotson won in
3:57.907 with the Danish side of Lasse Hansen, Casper Folsach, Alex Rasmussen
and Rasmus Quaade finishing the four kilometers 1.716 seconds back.

Australia also took the world crown in 2010 and 2011 and finished second in

In the men’s team sprint, the qualifying-leader New Zealand lineup of Ethan
Mitchell, Sam Webster, Edward Dawkins won the final in 42.840 with Germany’s
Rene Enders, Robert Forstemann and Max Levy .045 behind.

The Kiwis lost to Germany in last year’s final.

New Zealand beat Russia for third in the men’s team pursuit while France
beat Russia for third in the team sprint.

On the women’s side, Germany downed China in the team sprint final with
Miriam Welte and Kristina Vogel finishing in 32.440 seconds and China’s Lin
Junhong and Zhong Tianshi trailing in 33.239.

Britain’s Jessica Varnish and Rebecca James took third in 33.032, edging
Russia’s Elena Brezhniva and Anastasia Voinova by .122 of a second.

In the women’s 10km scratch final, Belgian Kelly Druyts took the title with
Poland’s Katarzyna Pawlowska second and Russian Evgenia Romanyuta third.

Druyts, a 24-year-old who was third in 2012, completed the 40 laps in an
average speed of 46.164 km/h.

World Track championships results

CALI, Colombia, Feb 27, 2014 (AFP) – Top finals finishers on Wednesday from
the first day of the World Track Cycling Championships:
Team Pursuit
Australia (Glenn O’Shea, Alexander Edmonson, Mitchell Mulhern, Miles
Scotson) 3:57.907 bt Denmark (Lasse Hansen, Casper Folsach, Alex Rasmussen,
Rasmus Quaade) 3:59.623
Third-place race
New Zealand (Aaron Gate, Pieter Bulling, Dylan Kenneth, Marc Ryan) 3:58.989
bt Russia (Artur Ershov, Evgeny Kovalev, Ivan Kovalev, Alexander Serov)

Team Sprint
New Zealand (Ethan Mitchell, Sam Webster, Edward Dawkins) 42.840 bt Germany
(Rene Enders, Robert Forstemann, Maximilian Levy) 42.885
Third-place race
France (Gregory Bauge, Kevin Sireau, Michael d’Almeida) 43.285 bt Russia
(Pavel Yarushevskiy, Denis Dmitriev, Nikita Shurshin) 43.309

Team Sprint
Germany (Miriam Welte, Kristina Vogel) 32.440 bt China (Lin Junhong, Zhong
Tianshi) 33.239
Third-place race
Britain (Jessica Varnish, Rebecca James) 33.032 bt Russia (Elena Brezhniva,
Anastasia Voinova) 33.154

Scratch (10km)
1. Kelly Druyts (BEL), 2. Katarzyna Pawlowska (POL), 3. Evgenia Romanyuta