British Women Extend Team Pursuit Total Reign


CALI, Colombia, Feb 28, 2014 (AFP) – Great Britain retained their women’s
team pursuit world crown Thursday, rallying to vanquish Canada to claim
Britain’s first gold of the 2014 track cycling World Championships.

Laura Trott and Joanna Rowsell — members of the team that won Olympic gold
before home fans in London in 2012 — Elinor Barker and Katie Archibald
triumphed with a time of 4min 23.407sec in the four-kilometer race.

They had qualified fastest by two seconds in blustery conditions earlier in
the day, but it was Canada who seized the initiative in the final, opening up
a lead of 1.10sec at the halfway stage before Britain stormed back, gaining
control over the final 750 meters to beat Canada’s Laura Brown, Jasmin
Glaesser, Allison Beveridge and Stephanie Roorda by 1.29sec.

Australia (Annette Edmondson, Amy Cure, Melissa Hoskins, Isabella King)
took bronze, catching the Poland squad with around a kilometer to go in the
race for third place.

Germany’s Miriam Welte won the women’s 500m time trial gold with a time of
33.451sec, denying Australian Anna Meares a record 11th world title.

Welte had already claimed gold in the women’s team sprint on Wednesday,
teaming with Kristina Vogel for a victory over China.

Meares settled for silver in 33.548 with Anastasia Voinova of Russia taking

Although the 30-year-old from South Australia couldn’t add a fifth 500m
time trial gold to her World Championship cache, she did claim her 21st World
Championships medal.

And she’ll have two more chances to add a record 11th world title to her
resume in sprint and keirin events before competition concludes.

Meares currently shares the record of 10 career world titles with France’s
Felicia Ballanger.

Defending 500m time trial world champion Sarah Lee Wai Sze of Hong Kong
finished sixth.

Australia’s Alexander Edmonson, 20, won the men’s individual pursuit,
beating Switzerland’s Stefan Kueng in the final.

Edmondson clocked 4min 22.582sec over the four kilometer race, averaging
54.840 km/h to edge Kueng by 41 hundredths of a second.

Edmondson claimed his second gold medal in as many days, after riding on
the Australian squad that rallied to retain their men’s team pursuit title

New Zealand’s Marc Ryan earned bronze, beating Ireland’s Ryan Mullen in the
race for third place.

Francois Pervis of France, 29, won the men’s keirin gold, finishing ahead
of Colombian Fabian Puerta and Mattijs Buchli of the Netherlands in the final.

The one-kilometer world record-holder notched his first world title in the
event and will try to add two more individual titles before the week is out —
in Friday’s one-kilometer time trial and the weekend’s sprint.

Germany’s Joachim Eilers finished fourth ahead of Britain’s defending
champion Jason Kenny.

Russia’s Ivan Kovalev won the men’s 15 km scratch race ahead of defending
champion Martyn Irvine of Ireland and Hong Kong’s Cheung King-Lok.

Cheung’s finish gave Hong Kong another world championships medal in the
non-Olympic event, after Kwok Ho-Ting’s triumph in 2011.

World Track championships results

CALI, Colombia, Feb 28, 2014 (AFP) – Top finals finishers on Thursday from
the second day of the World Track Cycling Championships:
Scratch 15km
1. Ivan Kovalev (RUS), 2. Martyn Irvine (IRL), 3. Cheung King-Lok (HKG)

1. Francois Pervis (FRA), 2. Fabian Puerta (COL), 3. Matthijs Buchli (NED),
4. Joachim Eilers (GER), 5. Jason Kenny (GBR), Maximilian Levy (GER) DNF

Individual Pursuit
Alexander Edmondson (AUS) 4:22.582 bt Stefan Kueng (SUI) 4:22.995
3rd place race
Marc Ryan (NZL) 4:22.895 bt Ryan Mullen (IRL) 4:24.626

500m time trial
1. Miriam Welte (GER) 33.451sec, 2. Anna Meares (AUS) 33.548, 3. Anastasia
Voinova (RUS) 33.789

Team Pursuit
Great Britain (Laura Trott, Katie Archibald, Elinor Barker, Joanna Rowsell)
4:23.407 bt Canada (Jasmin Glaesser, Laura Brown, Stephanie Roorda, Allison
Beveridge) 4:24.696
3rd place race
Australia (Annette Edmondson, Amy Cure, Melissa Hoskins, Isabella King)
4:31.504 bt Poland (Katarzyna Pawlowska, Malgorzata Wojtyra, Eugenia Bujak,
Edyta Jasinska) 4:37.786