Chris Froome Leads British Assault On Road World Championships


LONDON, Sept 17, 2014 (AFP) – Former Tour de France champions Chris Froome
and Bradley Wiggins were named in the Great Britain team for the Road World
Championships in Spain that was announced on Wednesday.
But while Froome, who recently came second in the Tour of Spain behind
Alberto Contador, will spearhead a nine-man team in the men’s road race,
Wiggins will only feature in the time-trial.
Froome, the 2013 Tour de France winner, is joined in the road race squad by
Geraint Thomas, Pete Kennaugh and David Millar, who is due to retire at the
end of the season.
British Cycling technical director Shane Sutton said: “I’m pleased with the
teams we’ve selected for the UCI Road World Championships. Across the board,
we have some real podium contenders.
“For the men’s road race, Chris proved he’s in good shape by coming second
at the Vuelta and I’m pleased David Millar will be leading the team in his
last outing in Great Britain kit.”
The line-up for the men’s road race in Ponferrada on September 28, the
final day of the competition, is completed by Steve Cummings, Luke Rowe, Yates
twins Simon and Adam, and Ben Swift.
Wiggins, who won the Tour de France in 2012 before adding the time-trial
gold medal at the London Olympics, will compete in the September 24
race-against-the-clock, alongside Alex Dowsett.
Lizzie Armitstead leads the six-strong women’s squad, which also includes
two-time junior world champion Lucy Garner but does not feature a competitor
for the time-trial.

Great Britain team for the Road World Championships in Ponferrada, Spain
(September 21-28)
– Men’s elite road race: Steve Cummings, Chris Froome, Pete Kennaugh, David
Millar, Luke Rowe, Ben Swift, Geraint Thomas, Adam Yates, Simon Yates
– Men’s elite time-trial: Alex Dowsett, Bradley Wiggins
– Women’s elite road race: Lizzie Armitstead, Alice Barnes, Hannah Barnes,
Anna Christian, Lucy Garner, Annie Last