Gianni Meersman Victorious On Final Day in Mallorca

Mallorca Challenge logo

MADRID, Feb 12, 2014 – Belgian Gianni Meersman claimed the Alcudia
Trophy on the final day of the Mallorca challenge on Wednesday.

The Omega Pharma-Quick-Step rider pipped Spaniard Jose Francisco Ventoso
and Britain’s Ben Swift in a sprint to the line to win the 162km ride from
Muro to Alcudia in a time of three hours 50min 07secs.

It was a second consecutive day that the Belgian team came out on top after
Poland’s Michal Kwiatowski won the Serra de Tramuntana Trophy on Tuesday.

Italian Sacha Modolo claimed victory for Lampre Merida on the opening two
days of the four-stage event which consists of four separate races without a
general classification.

Results from the Alcudia Trophy, a 162km ride
from Muro to Alcudia, Mallorca on Wednesday:

1. Gianni Meersman (BEL/Omega Pharma-Quick-Step) 3h 50mins 07secs
2. Jose Francisco Ventoso (ESP/Movistar) same time
3. Ben Swift (GBR/Sky) s.t.
4. Sacha Modolo (ITA/Lampre Merida) s.t.
5. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA/Astana) s.t.
6. Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR/Sky) s.t.
7. Michael Albasini (SWI/Orica GreenEdge) s.t.
8. Sergei Chernetski (RUS/Katusha) s.t.
9. Alexandre Pichot (FRA/Europcar) s.t.
10. Fabian Wegmann (GER/Garmin Sharp) s.t.