Giro d’Italia Stage 12 Time Trial See’s Pink Jersey Change


BAROLO, Italy, May 22, 2014 (AFP) – Colombia’s Rigoberto Uran won stage 12
of the Giro d’Italia on Thursday, taking control of the leader’s pink jersey
from Cadel Evans following a 41.9-kilometre time-trial.

While Omega Pharma-QuickStep rider Uran claimed his first individual
time-trial success after posting a best time of 57min 34sec, Australian Evans
endured a difficult day in the Piedmont vineyards, finishing third, 1min 34sec
down on the Colombian, to relinquish the overall lead.

Italy’s Diego Ulissi was second, 1min 17sec adrift, in a rain-hit stage
that saw Uran take a 37sec lead from Evans in the general classification.

“It’s incredible, I’m really surprised. I didn’t think that I would win
it,” said a delighted Uran, who became the first Colombian to wear the pink
jersey following his second career Giro stage victory.

“I’ve been doing a lot of work over the winter. I was fourth in the Tour of
Romandie (individual time-trial) and so that was a good sign. I’m lost for
words – it’s incredible.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Meanwhile, Evans struggled to negotiate drying roads as the rain subsided
just before the final riders tackled the course.

His time through the first intermediate check-point was only good enough
for ninth but the veteran Aussie began to close the gap on his rivals over the
latter part with the notable exception of Uran.

“I wasn’t able to give everything,” said Evans, who came close to sliding
off the road at the finish.

“I had said these past few days that Rigoberto seemed relaxed but I didn’t
expect that he would be as strong.”

However, a philosophical Evans claimed losing the overall lead was not
necessarily the worst outcome.

“To lose the pink jersey is not a tragedy. It’s perhaps even an advantage
given what awaits us,” said the 2011 Tour de France champion.

As for an under the weather Nairo Quintana, one of the pre-race favourites,
he lost 2min 41sec to his fellow countryman Uran on the day, leaving him
almost 3min 30sec off the pink jersey.

“I gave it my all right the way through but I found it difficult to
breathe. I hope that things will get better,” said Quintana, who was
complaining of a throat infection.

Polish cyclist Rafal Majka, who was fourth in Thursday’s time-trial, is
third overall at 1:52 with climbing specialist Domenico Pozzovivo fourth at

Uran, silver medallist in the men’s road race at the 2012 London Olympics,
finished second in last year’s Giro having initially started the race in
support of Team Sky leader Bradley Wiggins, who abandoned the 2013 event after
12 stages.

Friday’s stage 13, a 157km ride from Fossano to Rivarolo, will provide
sprinters with one final chance to impress before the race heads to the

Results from the 12th stage of the Giro
d’Italia, a 41.9km individual time trial between Barbaresco and Barolo on

1. Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) 57min 34sec, 2. Diego Ulissi (ITA/LAM) at 1min
17sec, 3. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 1:34, 4. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 1:39, 5.
Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/OPQ) 1:53, 6. Wout Poels (NED/OPQ) 2:00, 7. Wilco
Kelderman (NED/BKN) 2:03, 8. Thomas De Gendt (BEL/OPQ) 2:07, 9. Domenico
Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 2:09, 10. Patrick Gretsch (GER/ALM) 2:12, 11. Dario
Cataldo (ITA/SKY) 2:23, 12. José Herrada (ESP/MOV) 2:25, 13. Nairo Quintana
(COL/MOV) 2:41, 14. Michael Rogers (AUS/TIN) same time, 15. Kanstantsin
Siutsou (BLR/SKY) 2:46, 16. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 2:55, 17. Damiano Cunego
(ITA/LAM) 3:04, 18. Matteo Rabottini (ITA/NRI) 3:09, 19. Stefano Pirazzi
(ITA/BAR) 3:20, 20. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN/GRM) 3:22

Didn’t start
Chris Anker Sörensen (DEN/TIN)
Tobias Ludvigsson (SWE/GIA)

Overall standings
1. Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) 49h 37min 35sec, 2. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) at
37sec, 3. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 1min 52sec, 4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM)
2:32, 5. Wilco Kelderman (NED/BKN) 2:50, 6. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 3:29, 7.
Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 3:37, 8. Wout Poels (NED/OPQ) 4:06, 9. Steve Morabito
(SUI/BMC) 4:20, 10. Robert Kiserlovski (CRO/TRE) 4:41, 11. Ivan Basso
(ITA/CAN) 5:09, 12. Pierre Rolland (FRA/EUC) 5:45, 13. Gianluca Brambilla
(ITA/OPQ) 5:57, 14. Diego Ulissi (ITA/LAM) 6:24, 15. Matteo Rabottini
(ITA/NRI) 6:48, 16. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN/GRM) 6:55, 17. Maxime Monfort
(BEL/LTB) 7:01, 18. Kanstantsin Siutsou (BLR/SKY) 7:31, 19. Alexis Vuillermoz
(FRA/ALM) 7:36, 20. Damiano Cunego (ITA/LAM) 8:42