Giro d’Italia Stage 13 Success Won By Breakaway


RIVAROLO CANAVESE, Italy, May 23, 2014 (AFP) – Italy’s Marco Canola
prevailed in a sprint finish to the Giro d’Italia 13th stage on Friday, with
Colombian Rigoberto Uran retaining the overall leader’s pink jersey.

Canola, with the Bardiani team, celebrated his biggest success by fending
off Venezuela’s Jackson Rodriguez and French rider Angelo Tulik in a dash to
the line at the end of the 157km run from Fossano to Rivarolo.

“I hope this is the first of many,” said the rider from Venice.

Canola, Rodriguez and Tulik were part of an early six-man breakaway, with
an 11 second gap back to the peloton headed by another Frenchman Nacer
Bouhanni, holder of the red points jersey, with Uran safely in their midst.

The peloton had to battle a hail storm, making life difficult for the

With 10km to go the three who fought out the finish had a near one and a
half minute cushion on the chasing pack, with Canola best negotiating the
final bend to emerge triumphant for the best win of his career.

The 25-year-old turned professional in 2012, the Venetian competing in his
second Giro.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On Saturday the 2014 Tour of Italy enters the mountains, ending up in Oropa
where the late Italian climber Marco Pantani, who died in 2004, produced a
memorable performance after being held up with a chain problem on his way to
victory in the 1999 edition.

The 164km run begins in Aglie with the notorious 11.8 climb to the finish
in Oropa.

Results from the Giro
d’Italia 13th stage, a 157km ride from Fossano to Rivarolo on Friday:

1. Marco Canola (ITA/BAR) 3hr 37min 31sec
2. Jackson Rodriguez (VEN/AND) 0:00.
3. Angelo Tulik (FRA/EUC) 0:00.
4. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/FDJ) 0:11.
5. Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA/TRE) 0:11.
6. Elia Viviani (ITA/CAN) 0:11.
7. Luka Mezgec (SLO/GIA) 0:11.
8. Ben Swift (GBR/SKY) 0:11.
9. Tyler Farrar (USA/GRM) 0:11.
10. Borut Bozic (SLO/AST) 0:11.
11. Enrico Battaglin (ITA/BAR) 0:11.
12. Daniele Colli (ITA/NRI) 0:11.
13. Tosh Van der Sande (BEL/LTB) 0:11.
14. Leonardo Duque (COL/COL) 0:11.
15. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 0:11.
16. Roberto Ferrari (ITA/LAM) 0:11.
17. Andrea Fedi (ITA/NRI) 0:11.
18. Wilco Kelderman (NED/BKN) 0:11.
19. Jos van Emden (NED/BKN) 0:11.
20. Marco Frapporti (ITA/AND) 0:11.
24. Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) 0:11.
69. Ivan Basso (ITA/CAN) 0:11.
71. Damiano Cunego (ITA/LAM) 0:11.
166. Michele Scarponi (ITA/AST) 6:26.

1. Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) 53:15:06.
2. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 0:37.
3. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 1:52.
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 2:32.
5. Wilco Kelderman (NED/BKN) 2:50.
6. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 3:29.
7. Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 3:37.
8. Wout Poels (NED/OPQ) 4:06.
9. Steve Morabito (SUI/BMC) 4:20.
10. Robert Kiserlovski (CRO/TRE) 4:41.
11. Ivan Basso (ITA/CAN) 5:09.
12. Pierre Rolland (FRA/EUC) 5:45.
13. Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/OPQ) 5:57.
14. Diego Ulissi (ITA/LAM) 6:24.
15. Matteo Rabottini (ITA/NRI) 6:48.
16. Ryder Hesjedal (CAN/GRM) 6:55.
17. Maxime Monfort (BEL/LTB) 7:01.
18. Kanstantsin Siutsou (BLR/SKY) 7:31.
19. Alexis Vuillermoz (FRA/ALM) 7:36.
20. Damiano Cunego (ITA/LAM) 8:42.