Italian Sasha Modolo Wins Palma Trophy

Mallorca Challenge logo

MADRID, Feb 09, 2014 (AFP) – Lampre-Merida’s Italian rider Sacha Modolo
claimed victory in the Palma Trophy on the first day of the four-stage series
of races in the Mallorca challenge event on Sunday.

After 10 laps of a 11.6km route around the Island’s capital, Modolo was
followed home by Belgian Jens Debusschere (Lotto Belisol) and Holland’s Dylan
Groenewegen (De Rijke) in second and third respectively.

Sky’s Bradley Wiggins didn’t take part on Sunday, but the 2012 Tour de
France winner is expected to get his season underway in the Campos Trophy on

Results from the Palma Trophy, a 116km ride
around Palma, Mallorca on Sunday:

1. Sacha Modolo (ITA/Lampre Merida) 2h 22min 12secs
2. Jens Debusschere (BEL/Lotto Belisol) same time.
3. Dylan Groenewegen (NED/De Rijke) s.t.
4. Gianni Meersman (BEL/Omega Pharma-Quick-Step) s.t.
5. Adrien Petit (FRA/Cofidis) s.t.
6. Jon Aberasturi (ESP/Euskadi) s.t.
7. Michael Matthews (AUS/Orica GreenEdge) s.t.
8. Andrea Peron (ITA/Novo Nordisk) s.t.
9. Davide Vigano (ITA/Caja Rural) s.t.
10. Yoeri Havik (NED/De Rijke) s.t.