Laurent Didier Wins, Van Garderen Keeps Lead


WASHINGTON, Aug 23, 2014 (AFP) – Luxembourg’s Laurent Didier won Friday’s
fifth stage of the USA Pro Challenge cycling race, while American Tejay Van
Garderen finished ninth to maintain his 20-second overall lead.

Trek racer Didier captured the 167.6-kilometer (104.14-mile) stage from
Woodland Park to Breckenridge in three hours, 50 minutes and 38 seconds with
Colombian Janier Alexis Acevedo Colle second and Canada’s Rob Britton third,
both in the same time.

Van Garderen was 1:33 off the pace in ninth but that was enough to keep the
BMC Racing rider’s margin over second-place overall rider Rafael Majka of
Poland, who placed 10th in the stage just behind the American.

The pair were Tour de France rivals last month.

Romanian Serghei Tvetcov jumped from fifth to third in the overall
competition but remained 37 seconds adrift of Van Garderen.

American Tom Danielson was fourth, 39 seconds off the pace, with countryman
Matthew Busche another 12 seconds back.

Saturday’s penultimate stage is a 10-mile (16.1km) individual time trial in
Vail that follows along the Vail Pass and features a steep climb up the final
three miles that could decide the winner.

Results on Friday in the fifth stage of
the USA Pro Challenge cycling race, a 167.6-kilometer (104.14-mile) stage from
Woodland Park to Breckenridge:

Stage 5
1. Laurent Didier (LUX/TFR) 3hrs 50mins 38secs, 2. Janier Alexis Acevedo
Colle (COL/GRS) same time, 3. Rob Britton (CAN/SSC) s.t., 4. Ben King
(USA/GRS) at 15 seconds, 5. Jose Joao Pimenta Costa Mendes (POR/TNE) at 1:11,
6. Dan Eaton (USA/BDT) at 1:26, 7. Serghei Tvetcov (ROM/JBC) at 1:33, 8.
Richard Handley (GBR/RCJ) s.t., 9. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) s.t., 10.
Rafael Majka (POL/TCS) s.t.

Overall standings
1. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 16hr 55min 56sec 2. Rafal Majka (POL/TCS)
at 20 seconds, 3. Serghei Tvetcov (ROM/JBC) 37, 4. Tom Danielson (USA/GRS) 39,
5. Matthew Busche (USA/TFR) 51, 6. Joseph Rosskopf (USA/HSD) 1:14, 7. Carter
Jones (USA/OPM) 1:22, 8. Bartosz Huzarski (POL/TNE) 1:28, 9. Ben Hermans
(BEL/BMC) 1:49, 10. Julian Kyer (USA/SSC) 1:55.

Jersey Winners
· Smashburger Leader Jersey – Tejay van Garderen (USA) of BMC Racing Team
· Lexus Sprint Jersey – Kiel Reijnen (USA) of UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team
· Sierra Nevada King of the Mountains Jersey – Ben Jacques-Maynes (USA) of Jamis-Hagens Berman p/b Sutter Home
· Colorado State University Best Young Rider Jersey – Clement Chevrier (FRA) of Bissell Development Team
· FirstBank Most Aggressive Rider Jersey – Ben King (USA) of Team Garmin-Sharp
· Colorado National Guard Best Colorado Rider Jersey – Tejay van Garderen (USA) of BMC Racing Team