Luka Mezgec Wins Again In Tour of Catalonia


MADRID, March 25, 2014 (AFP) – Slovenia’s Luka Mezgec claimed a second
stage win in as many days for Giant-Shimano on the second day of the Tour of

Mezgec led home Italians Roberto Ferrari (Lampre-Merida) and Daniele Ratto
(Cannondale) in a time of 3hrs 57mins 49secs to extend his overall advantage
over Ferrari and Australia’s Howard Leigh (Orica-GreeEdge) to 14 seconds in
the general classification.

Tour de France winner Chris Froome was again in the lead pack that finished
the 168km second stage from Mataro to Girona three seconds back along with
Spanish duo Alberto Contador and Joaquim Rodriguez and Colombia’s Nairo
Quintana to leave them 23 seconds off the lead.

However, Froome’s chances of victory later in the week suffered a blow as
Sky teammate Ritchie Porte had to withdraw from the race due to ill health
after finishing way off the pace on Monday.

Wednesday’s third stage sees the first mountain finish of the week as the
riders tackle a 162.9km ride from Banyoles to La Molina.

Results from the second stage of the of the
Tour of Catalonia on Tuesday, a 168km ride from Mataro to Girona:

1. Luka Mezgec (SLO/Giant-Shimano) 3hr 57min 49sec
2. Roberto Ferrari (ITA/Lampre-Merida) same time
3. Daniele Ratto (ITA/Cannondale) s.t.
4. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/Omega Pharma-Quick-step) s.t.
5. Marcus Burghardt (GER/BMC) s.t.
6. Davide Vigano (ITA/Caja Rural) s.t.
7. Boris Vallee (BEL/Lotto Belisol) s.t.
8. Tosh Van der Sande (BEL/Lotto Belisol) s.t.
9. Leigh Howard (AUS/Orica GreenEdge) s.t.
10. Maciej Paterski (POL/CCC Polsat Polkowice) at 0.03

28. Alberto Contador (ESP/Tinkoff-Saxo) s.t., 35. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY)
s.t., 36. Nairo Quintana (COL/Movistar) s.t., 52. Joaquim Rodriguez
(ESP/Katusha) s.t.

Overall standings
1. Luka Mezgec (SLO/Giant-Shimano) 4:09:03
2. Roberto Ferrari (ITA/Lampre-Merida) at. 0:14 sec.
3. Leigh Howard (AUS/Orica GreenEdge) s.t.
4. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/Omega Pharma-Quick-step) 0:16
5. Daniele Ratto (ITA/Cannondale) s.t.
6. Boris Vallee (BEL/Lotto Belisol) 0:18
7. Marcus Burghardt (GER/BMC) 0: 20
8. Tosh Van der Sande (BEL/Lotto Belisol) s.t.
9. Davide Vigano (ITA/Caja Rural) s.t.
10. Michel Koch (GER/Cannondale) s.t.