Marcel Kittel Wins Dubai Stage 2 With Authority


DUBAI, Feb 06, 2014 – German cyclist Marcel Kittel, from team
Giant-Shimano, secured his first victory this season after winning on Thursday
the second stage of the Dubai Tour 2014.

The 122-kilometer (76-mile) race started from the Dubai World Trade Centre,
with 127 cyclists from 16 teams spanning around desert highways before
concluding at the tip of the man-made Palm Island.

American Taylor Phinney won the inaugural stage on Wednesday.

Many roads were closed for the tour and several schools closed in fear of
traffic problems.

The four-stage race is, held for the first time in the Gulf emirate is
416.9-kilometer (259-mile) long.

1 Marcel Kittel (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano 2:50:30
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale
3 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team
4 Juan Jose Lobato Del Valle (Spa) Movistar Team
5 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek Factory Racing
6 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida
7 Nikolay Trusov (Rus) Tinkoff-Saxo
8 Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Arg) Skydive Dubai Pro Cycling Team
9 Jacopo Guarnieri (Ita) Astana Pro Team
10 Raymond Kreder (Ned) Garmin Sharp
11 Lasse Norman Hansen (Den) Garmin Sharp
12 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin Sharp
13 Adriano Malori (Ita) Movistar Team
14 Antonio Viola (Ita) Vini-Fantini-Nippo
15 Takashi Miyazawa (Jpn) Vini-Fantini-Nippo
16 Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Garmin Sharp
17 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team
18 Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Vini-Fantini-Nippo
19 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Trek Factory Racing
20 Soufiane Haddi (Mar) Skydive Dubai Pro Cycling Team