Orica-GreenEDGE Defends Team After Impey Positive Test


SYDNEY, July 03, 2014 – Orica-GreenEDGE boss defends team after positive test manager Shayne Bannan
Thursday defended his team’s anti-doping regime after cyclist Daryl Impey
tested positive for a banned substance.

The South African, the first-ever African to wear the Tour de France’s
yellow jersey last year, tested positive in February for Probenecid, the
Australian team announced Wednesday.

Probenecid is a substance used to treat gout and hyperuricema but banned
because it can be used as a masking agent.

Impey has denied any wrongdoing and Bannan said his team had nothing to
hide, calling on his Tour de France riders to stay focused in the midst of the
doping scandal.

“Obviously the guys will be affected by what’s happened, because of the
friendship within the team,” Bannan told Australian Associated Press.

“How deep of an effect, we’re really not too sure.”

He said Impey, 29, initially told him of the positive A sample last week
and confirmed on Tuesday that the B sample result had also come back positive.

Orica-GreenEDGE took him off their racing roster ahead of Saturday’s start
of this year’s Tour de France while he fights to clear his name.

“It’s really important that we stay focused — we have absolutely nothing
to hide,” added Bannan.

“We can be proud of our short history in the sport. It’s a matter of really
just continuing the ethics that we stand by.”

The scandal is a major blow to the image of a team that commissioned an
anti-doping consultant to conduct an independent review of their operations
and staff in the wake of the Lance Armstrong scandal.

Impey’s positive test comes nearly a year after Orica-GreenEDGE veteran
Stuart O’Grady retired and then within a few days confessed to doping once in
the late 1990s.

Their Tour de France team is led by Simon Gerrans, Simon Clarke, Michael
Albasini and Canadian road and time trial champion Svein Tuft, who last year
helped them score two Tour stage wins.

The five other riders will be making their debut in the race — Australians
Luke Durbridge, Mathew Hayman and Michael Matthews, Belgian Jens Keukeleire
and Briton Simon Yates.