Team Effort Brings Bos Second Stage Win At Tour of Langkawi

Theo Bos struck again today in the Tour de Langkawi. The Belkin Pro Cycling TEAM rider sprinted ahead of the bunch in stage seven, the longest stage of the race with a length of 230 kilometres. The Dutchman, with help of his team-mates, topped Aidis Kruopis (Orica-GreenEDGE ) and Leonardo Duque (Team Columbia).

“We worked together very well and we are so happy now,” Bos said. “Today went great. Rick Flens closed the gap with the leaders and in the last fifteen kilometres Jack Bobridge and Steven Kruijswijk kept the peloton in check. After a good lead-out by Dennis van Winden and Graeme Brown, I was able to finish it off.” Bos, above all, complimented his lead-out man Graeme Brown. “I’m very fortunate to have Graeme,” said Bos, winner of stage two. “I think he’s the best man in the peloton to bring me in front. He is the fastest lead-out man and I trust him.”

Close call
It all could have gone wrong for Bos in the final metres, however. In the last corner, 250 metres from the line, he almost hit the tarmac. “My front wheel slipped, but fortunately I was able to hold my bike straight.” Sports Director Michiel Elijzen was delighted with Bos his win. “The last couple of days were pretty frustrating as we simply couldn’t sprint for the win or things went south in the sprint itself. That makes today’s victory extra pleasant.”

Repeat tomorrow?
“Everyone did his job superbly,” added Brown. “Rick rode at the front for around 150 kilometres, Jack and Steven did their job as well and Dennis took me into the last corner after which I took over and Theo finished it off. Simply fantastic!”

Brown wants a repeat in tomorrow’s 202-kilometre stage eight from Kuantan to Marang. “We have given too much stages away to breakaways. As long as Rick’s legs feel all right we’re going to do exactly the same. The long days work in our favour.”

Top three places in Stage 7:
1. Theo Bos (NED/Belkin-Pro Cycling) 5hr 33 min 12 sec, 2. Aidis Kruopis
(LTU/Orica Greenedge) same time, 3. Leonardo Duque (COL/Colombia) st
Top three places overall:
1. Mirsamad Pourseyedigolakhour (IRI/Tabriz Petrochemical Team) 25hr 17 min
02 sec, 2. Merhawi Kudus (ERI/MTN – Qhubeka) at 8 secs, 3. Isaac Bolivar
(COL/UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) at 11 secs