Team Garmin-Sharp Announces 2014 Giro d’Italia Roster


May 7, 2014 – Team Garmin-Sharp today announced its much-anticipated 2014 roster. The squad is headlined by former Giro champion, Ryder Hesjedal, and Dan Martin.

Charly Wegelius, Director of Team Garmin-Sharp, said: “We will go to the Giro with two GC leaders – Ryder Hesjedal and Dan Martin. Ryder already has the experience of winning a Giro, while Dan will have his first full out effort at GC in a three–week race. This will be an important experience for Dan, and he is in the very fortunate position of having Ryder by his side. We will also bring Tyler Farrar, who hopes to build on a strong spring Classics season. The rest of the team is a great blend of experience and youth, with neo pro Dylan Van Baarle having his first experience of a Grand Tour, which we hope will help lay the foundation for a bright future.”

Jonathan Vaughters, CEO of Slipstream Sports and Team Garmin-Sharp added: “Charly Wegelius is an outstanding DS and has led us to one Giro victory. I’m sure his leadership and intelligence can help us achieve a high level of success yet again, and we have a strong team to be able to do that.”

Team Garmin-Sharp 2014 Giro d’Italia Roster

Andre Cardoso
Thomas Dekker
Tyler Farrar
Koldo Fernandez
Nathan Haas
Ryder Hesjedal
Dan Martin
Dylan Van Baarle
Fabian Wegmann