Theo Bos Gets Hat Trick At Tour of Langkawi

Belkin Pro Cycling TEAM’s plan was spot on again today in Malaysia’s Tour de Langkawi. After five of the six riders worked, Theo Bos finished the job with a sprint win in Marang.

In the 202-kilometre eighth stage, the Dutchman took his third victory of the race. Andrea Guardini (Astana) and Kenny van Hummel (Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela) finished second and third. After Rick Flens reeled in the break, Jack Bobridge, Steven Kruijswijk and Dennis van Winden worked. Graeme Brown led Bos to the head of the group with a powerful lead-out over 600 metres and hit the front with 150 meters remaining. Bos said, “The last kilometre went exactly as planned.”

More wins planned
The sprinter wants more, however. In the final two flat stages, he hopes to bag more success for the team. “Beforehand we agreed that we wanted to win three stages together”, said Bos. “We did that and we are very happy now, but there are still two stages left and hopefully we can achieve more good results.”

Sports Director Michiel Elijzen agreed with Bos. He said that the team can take win number four in tomorrow’s 109-kilometre stage from Bandar Permaisuri to Kuala Terengganu. “A breakaway held on several times this race and tomorrow is a short stage again, so the attackers will see opportunities,” said Elijzen. “We will probably need to keep the race together along with the leader’s team. Of course we want another sprint, because Theo has shown to be extremely quick.”

Results from the eighth stage of the
Tour de Langkawi on Thursday, a 202.6 kilometre (125.9 mile) route from
Kuantan to Marang in eastern Malaysia:
Top three places in Stage 8:
1. Theo Bos (NED/Belkin-Pro Cycling) 5hr 01 min 58 sec, 2. Andrea Guardini
Kruopis (/Astana Pro Team) same time, 3. Kenny van Hummel (NED/Androni
Giocatolli – Venezuela) same time

Top three places overall:
1. Mirsamad Pourseyedigolakhour (IRI/Tabriz Petrochemical Team) 30hr 19 min
00 sec, 2. Merhawi Kudus (ERI/MTN – Qhubeka) at 8 secs, 3. Isaac Bolivar
(COL/UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) 11