Theo Bos Wins Number 4 In Tour of Langkawi

Theo Bos ruled again, for the fourth time, in Malaysia’s Tour de Langkawi. The Belkin Pro Cycling TEAM reeled in the escape, led towards Kuala Terengganu and dropped off Bos’ lead-out man Graeme Brown.

“I’m super happy, I just want to enjoy this victory,” Bos said along the seaside. “We have a super team, I’m happy with the guys. I always say to Brownie, drop me off at 200 metre, and he does that nine out of 10 times. He makes my job easy.” Bos finished ahead of Andrea Guardini (Astana), winner of one stage in Langkawi, and Aidis Kruopis (Orica-GreenEDGE). So tired from the effort, Bos could not raise his hands in victory. “I’m too tired. I can’t sit up,” Bos added. “Or maybe it’s a track thing.”

Belkin previewed the seaside finish early this morning in the car, which paid off after 111.1 kilometres. Brown took over under two kilometres, led through a roundabout and dropped off Bos.

“I was worried through the right/left corner at 300 metres from the finish,” Brown said. “They started sprinting to the right and left of me, that was very scary. I just had to hold on to the bars, I couldn’t go any faster.” “I wanted to be in the front through those last corners,” Bos added. “Kruopis had a good moment, luckily I was able to follow him and directly pass him. I saw Guardini on my wheel. The sprint was hard. I thought he came close but luckily it was enough.”

A parade lap
Sports Director Michiel Elijzen said that the Tabriz Petrochemical team of Mirsamad Pourseyedigolakhour would control the stage tomorrow to maintain the overall lead. The final stage ends with five circuits of 6.3 kilometres in the same city, Kuala Terengganu. Elijzen explained, “We won’t need to recon it again because they will cover it in the first few laps. It should end in a sprint. Bos will have a chance for five wins.”

Results from the ninth stage of the
Tour de Langkawi on Friday, a 111.1 kilometre (69 mile) route from Bandar
Permaisuri to Kuala Terengganu in eastern Malaysia:
Top three places in Stage 9:
1. Theo Bos (NED/Belkin-Pro Cycling) 2hr 32 min 21 sec, 2. Andrea Guardini
Kruopis (/Astana Pro Team) same time, 3. Aidis Kruopis (LTU/Orica Greenedge)
same time

Top three places overall:
1. Mirsamad Pourseyedigolakhour (IRI/Tabriz Petrochemical Team) 32hr 51 min
21 sec, 2. Merhawi Kudus (ERI/MTN – Qhubeka) at 8 secs, 3. Isaac Bolivar
(COL/UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) 11