Tour Of The Basque Country Stage 3 End In Sprint


MADRID, April 09, 2014 (AFP) – Australian Michael Matthews sprinted to
victory in the third stage of the Tour of the Basque Country on Wednesday.

The Orica-GreenEdge rider edged Kevin Reza (Europcar) and Michal Kwiatowski
(Omega Pharma-Quick Step) in a bunch sprint to the line to claim the 194.5km
ride from Urdazbi to Vitoria-Gasteiz in just over five hours.

There was no change in the general classification as two-time former Tour
de France champion Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) maintained his 14 second
lead over fellow Spaniard Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) with Kwiatowski 20
seconds further back in third.

Thursday’s fourth stage could prove decisive as the race heads into the
mountains with two category one climbs during the 151km ride from
Vitoria-Gasteiz to Arrate.

Results from the third stage of the Tour of
the Basque Country on Wednesday, a 194.5km ride from Urdazbi to

1. Micahel Matthews (AUS/ORI) 5h 02min 09sec, 2. Kevin Reza (FRA/EUC) same
time, 3. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) s.t., 4. Ben Swift (GBR/SKY) s.t., 5.
Paul Martens (GER/BKN) s.t., 6. Yukiya Arashiro (JAP/EUC) s.t., 7. Daniele
Ratto (ITA/CAN) s.t., 8. Maxim Iglinskiy (KAZ/AST) s.t., 9. Enrico Gasparotto
(ITA/AST) s.t, 10. Tosh Van der Sande (BEL/LTB) s.t.
16. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) s.t., 17 Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) s.t.

1. Alberto Contador (ESP/TIN) 12hr 54min 03sec, 2. Alejandro Valverde
(ESP/MOV) at 0:14sec, 3. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) 0:34, 4. Damiano Cunego
(ITA/LAM) 0:36, 5. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC) 0:36, 6. Jean Christophe Peraud
(FRA/ALM) 0:36, 7. Mikel Nieve (ESP/SKY) 0:36, 8. Yury Trofimov (RUS/KAT)
0:36, 9. Roman Kreuziger (CZE/TIN) 0:54, 10. Mikel Landa (ESP/AST) 0:54