Tour of Oman Stage 4 Ends In Bunch Sprint

Tour of Oman

Tour of Oman

MUSCAT, Feb 21, 2014 (AFP) – Slovakia’s Peter Sagan, riding for the
Cannondale team, won Friday’s Tour of Oman 173-kilometer fourth stage from
Wadi Al Abiyad to Muscat to claim the overall lead.

Sagan, who inherits the leader’s red jersey from Andre Greipel, prevailed
in a sprint from Rigoberto Uran of Colombia and Italian rider Vincenzo Nibali.

Sagan, Uran and Nibali finished around two seconds up on a small group of
pursuers comprising most of the race favorites, notably British Tour de
France winner Chris Froome.

Froome, last year’s winner in Oman, has an 18-second gap to make up on
Sagan in the overall standings.

The Team Sky rider said: “We’ve got a title to defend and that’s what I’ll
be doing.”

Stage winner Sagan for his part reported: “It was really very important for
my confidence to take such a difficult stage.”

“I’ve already been placed second three times this year, it was about time I
had a win.”

He added: “My form is really very good and what pleases me more is the form
of my teammates who were alongside me up the climbs.

“Today we had the best team.”

The stage was marked by a long breakaway from Belgium’s Greg Van Avermaet
who led until the third climb of the day.

Saturday’s fifth and penultimate stage takes the peloton on a 75km ride
from Bidbid up to the Green Mountain summit of Jabal Al Akhdhar.

Tour of Oman fourth stage results

MUSCAT, Feb 21, 2014 (AFP) – Results of the Tour of Oman fourth stage, a
173-kilometre ride from Wadi Al Abiyad to Muscat on Friday:

1. Peter Sagan (SVK/Cannondale) 4hr 02min 20sec, 2. Rigoberto Uran (COL)
s.t., 3. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) s.t., 4. Daryl Impey (RSA) at 2s, 5. Tony
Gallopin (FRA) s.t., 6. Daniel Moreno (ESP) s.t., 7. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA)
s.t., 8. Zdenek Stybar (CZE) s.t., 9. Thomas Lovkvist (SWE) s.t., 10. Moreno
Moser (ITA) s.t., 11. Christopher Froome (GBR) s.t., 12. Joaquim Rodriguez
(ESP) s.t.

Overall standings
1. Peter Sagan (SVK/Cannondale) 14hr 46min 44sec, 2. Rigoberto Uran (COL)
at 10s, 3. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) at 14, 4. Tony Gallopin (FRA) at 17, 5. Daryl
Impey (RSA) at 18, 6. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA) 18, 7. Roman Kreuziger (CZE) 18,
8. Christopher Froome (GBR) 18, 9. Tejay Van Garderen (USA) 18, 10. Robert
Gesink (NED) 18.