Tour of Romandie Stage 4 Report and Results


LAUSANNE, May 03, 2014 (AFP) – Swiss Michael Albasini made it a hat-trick
of victories in the Tour of Romandie by winning Saturday’s fourth stage after
175km around Fribourg.

Slovenia’s Simon Spilak kept his one second lead over Tour de France winner
Chris Froome in the overall standings.

Albasini, who had already won the first and second stages on Wednesday and
Thursday, beat Frenchman Thomas Voekler and Jan Bakelandts of Belgium in a
sprint finish among the five-man escape group, that included two more
Frenchmen, Alexis Vuillermoz and Jean-Marc Marino.

“Before the Tour of Romandie I would have been happy with one stage win so
three is a bit crazy,” said the 33-year-old Albasini.

“After this I’m going on holidays so I’m trying to give it my all during
the race.”

The Swiss rider’s win continued his Australian Orica-GreenEDGE team’s fine
form this last week, with young Briton Adam Yates leading the Tour of Turkey
having won Friday’s sixth stage in that.

Australian Simon Gerrans also claimed victory at Liege-Bastogne-Liege last
Sunday for Orica.

Katusha’s Spilak had taken the leader’s yellow jersey off Albasini by
out sprinting Froome to win Friday’s mountainous third stage.

Sunday’s fifth and final stage is an 18.5km individual time trial around
Neuchatel, in which Froome will be the overwhelming favourite to retain his

The last three winners of Romandie — Froome, Bradley Wiggins in 2012 and
Cadel Evans in 2011 — have gone on to win the Tour de France.

Results from the 173km fourth stage
of the Tour of Romandie around Fribourg on Saturday:

1. Michael Albasini (SUI/ORI) 4hr 14min 21sec, 2. Thomas Voeckler (FRA/EUC)
same time, 3. Jan Bakelants (BEL/OPQ) s.t., 4. Davide Appollonio (ITA/ALM) at
9sec, 5. Anthony Roux (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 6. Oscar Gatto (ITA/CAN) s.t., 7.
Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU/GRM) s.t., 8. Luka Mezgec (SLO/GIA) s.t., 9. Roberto
Ferrari (ITA/LAM) s.t., 10. Tony Hurel (FRA/EUC) s.t.

Selected others
16. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) s.t., 24. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) s.t., 34.
Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) s.t., 46. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) s.t.

Overall standings:
1. Simon Spilak (SLO/KAT) 15h 53:55, 2. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 1, 3. Rui
Costa (POR/LAM) 1:02, 4. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) 1:06, 5. Mathias Frank
(SUI/IAM) 1:10, 6. Benat Intxausti (ESP/MOV) 1:13, 7. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST)
1:14, 8. Jesus Herrada Lopez (ESP/MOV) 1:40, 9. Jon Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 1:48,
10. Andrew Talansky (USA/GRM) 1:50

Selected others
16. Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) 3:36, 39. Ivan Basso (ITA/CAN) 15:20