Tour of Switzerland Stage 2 Report and Results


LAUSANNE, May 01, 2014 (AFP) – Switzerland’s Michael Albasini won the
second stage of the Tour of Switzerland on Thursday to also earn the overall
race leader’s jersey.

The Orica GreenEDGE rider outsprinted Frenchman Tony Hurel and Italy’s
Giacomo Nizzolo at the end of a 166.5km stage from Sion to Montreux.

Poland’s Michal Kwiatkowski had begun the day in the leader’s yellow jersey
but lost out to Albasini due to time bonuses on the finishing line.

Albasini, 33, had also won Wednesday’s first stage in another mass bunch
sprint and the 20 seconds he gained in winning those two stages have now given
him a 5sec lead over OPQS’s Kwiatkowski in the standings, with Lithuania’s
Ramunas Navardauskas third a further 5sec back.

The Swiss rider’s victory continued Australian outfit Orica’s recent good
form after Simon Gerrans won Sunday’s Liege-Bastogne-Liege race.

“I didn’t think I’d do this today but my team worked very hard, even though
I wasn’t feeling very good during the stage,” Albasini told Swiss television
station RTS.

“I got lucky at the end, I picked a good wheel to follow which gave me a
good lead-out.

“It was more of a sprint today. I wasn’t thinking about taking the yellow
jersey but sometimes that happens and I’m delighted.”

Kwiatkowski, who was fifth in Montreux, has also maintained his good form
since the Ardennes Classics — he was fifth at the Amstel Gold Race and third
in both the Fleche Wallonne and Liege-Bastogne-Liege — winning Tuesday’s
opening prologue.

Friday’s third stage takes the peloton over 180km from Le Bouveret to Aigle
with four brutal first category climbs along the way.

Tour de France champion Chris Froome, 10th on Thursday’s stage, is
currently ninth overall at 19sec but will be hoping to test his legs in the
mountains on Friday after a difficult last month blighted by injury and

Results from the 166.5km second
stage of the Tour of Romandie from Sion to Montreux on Thursday:

1. Michael Albasini (SUI/ORI) 4hr 12min 22sec, 2. Tony Hurel (FRA/EUC) same
time, 3. Giacomo Nizzolo (ITA/RSH) s.t., 4. Alexey Tsatevich (RUS/KAT) s.t.,
5. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) s.t., 6. Maxim Iglinskiy (KAZ/AST) s.t., 7.
Tosh Van der Sande (BEL/LTB) s.t., 8. Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU/GRM) s.t., 9.
Danilo Wyss (SUI/BMC) s.t., 10. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) s.t.

Selected others
29. Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) s.t., 33. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) s.t., 35.
Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) s.t.

Overal standings
1. Michael Albasini (SUI/ORI) 6h 29:50, 2. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL/OPQ) at
5sec, 3. Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU/GRM) 10, 4. Jesus Herrada Lopez (ESP/MOV)
11, 5. Matthias Brandle (AUT/IAM) 12, 6. Rohan Dennis (AUS/GRM) 13, 7. Tony
Martin (GER/OPQ) 14, 8. Martijn Keizer (NED/BKN) 18, 9. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY)
19, 10. Jon Izagirre (ESP/MOV) 19

Selected others
11. Rui Costa (POR/LAM) 21, 14. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/AST) s.t., 16.
Rigoberto Uran (COL/OPQ) 23