Everything You Wanted To Know About The 2015 Paris-Roubaix


Bicycle.net picks out 10 riders to keep an eye on in Sunday’s 253km Cobbled Classic Paris-Roubaix race:

Quite simply the man of the moment, the 27-year-old is the most in-form
rider. His wins at the Tour of Flanders, Scheldeprijs and Three Days of De
Panne, all in the last two weeks, as well as a second place to John Degenkolb
last month at Milan-San Remo, means no-one has matched his Spring form.

NIKI TERPSTRA (NED) Etixx-Quick-Step
The reigning champion has also shown good recent form having finished
second in Flanders and Gent-Wevelgem. Paris-Roubaix is ideal for his powerful
riding and last year he showed great tactical acumen to break free from a
12-man group to win.

One of the greatest all-round bike riders in history. When Wiggins focuses
his mind on a goal he usually achieves it. A Grand Tour winner, time-trial
world and Olympic champion, track gold medallist at world and Olympic level
and now reinventing himself into a cobbled classic contender, Wiggins has the
ability to win this.

Finished second last year and won Milan-San Remo last month. If he arrives
at the Velodrome in Roubaix, the only man who might be able to beat him in a
sprint is Kristoff. He has the strength to stay with the best on the cobbles
but perhaps lacks a foil in the run-in.

Really disappointed with his showing in Flanders after being dropped before
the climb where Terpstra and Kristoff made their winning break, he will feel
he has something to prove on Sunday. He is a consistent performer normally and
was fourth last year having finished third at Flanders in 2014. But despite
numerous top five finishes in cobbled races, his only victory was at Omloop
Het Nieuwsblad in 2012.

Another consistent performer who rarely turns a high finish into a victory,
but Van Avermaet is always willing to go on the attack. It was he who animated
Flanders last year, attacking the field and taking Stijn Vandenbergh with him
before finishing second. A good bet for the podium, if not necessarily the win.

ZDENEK STYBAR (CZE) Etixx-Quick Step
Fifth last year and sixth the year before, his cyclo-cross background helps
him deal easily with cobbles. He made the mistake of marking Geraint Thomas in
Flanders, having finished second to the Welshman at E3 Harelbeke, and missed
the two decisive attacks. But with many eyes on his team-mate Terpstra, he
could capitalise on that the way the Dutchman did the year before when Tom
Boonen was team leader.

PETER SAGAN (SVK) Tinkoff-Saxo
Few can argue that Sagan is one of the most talented bike riders in the
peloton but he has flattered to deceive more often than not these last couple
of years. Considered two years ago as a stonewall certainty to win a Monument
race sooner rather than later, he has so far proved unable to make the right
move at the right time and his missed opportunities are starting to pile up.

Alongside Terpstra, Vansummeren is the only previous winner in the field
this year. Although at 34 his best years may be behind him, in such a
wide-open field his experience gives him a chance. If he has the legs to stay
with the best, then he could have a trick up his sleeve when the key moment

He was believed by many to be the man to beat ahead of Flanders but simply
didn’t pick the right moment to attack and was then marked out of contention.
He admitted he didn’t have the legs to win but having claimed E3 Harelbeke and
finished third at Gent-Wevelgem, he has proved already this spring that he is
one of the strongest men in the peloton.

Factfile on the Paris-Roubaix one-day Cobbled Classic race which takes place on Sunday:

First edition: 1896
Number of editions: 112
First winner: Josef Fischer (GER)
Current champion: Niki Terpstra (NED)
Most wins: Roger De Vlaeminck (BEL), Tom Boonen (BEL) 4
Length: 253km
Total cobbles: 52.7km
Number of cobbled sectors: 27
Departs: Compiegne
Arrives: Roubaix
Nicknames: Hell of the North, Queen of the Classics
Number of teams: 25
Number of riders: 200

Paris-Roubaix winners over the
last 10 years:

2014: Niki Terpstra (NED)
2013: Fabian Cancellara (SUI)
2012: Tom Boonen (BEL)
2011: Johan Vansummeren (BEL)
2010: Fabian Cancellara (SUI)
2009: Tom Boonen (BEL)
2008: Tom Boonen (BEL)
2007: Stuart O’Grady (AUS)
2006: Fabian Cancellara (SUI)
2005: Tom Boonen (BEL)