Sagan Wins Vuelta A Espana Stage 3, Chaves Keeps Lead


Málaga, Spain, Aug 24, 2015 (AFP) – Slovakian Peter Sagan claimed his first
Grand Tour stage victory in two years on the third stage of the Spain’s Vuelta
on Monday.

The 25-year-old Saxo-Tinkoff rider edged out France’s Nacer Bouhanni and
German John Degenkolb in a sprint to the line at the end of the 158.4km ride
from Mijas to Malaga in time of 4hr 06min 46sec.

Colombia’s Esteban Chaves maintains the overall lead after his victory on
Sunday’s second stage.

Dutchman Tom Dumoulin remains in second, five seconds behind, with
Ireland’s Nicholas Roche a further 10 seconds back in third.

Sagan finished second an incredible five times during the Tour de France
last month and his latest success adds to three stage wins at the Vuelta three
years ago.

“I was lucky that after a crash yesterday I didn’t suffer any damage and
today I have to thank the team because we deserve this victory,” said Sagan.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All of the general classification favourites finished with the same time so
Nairo Quintana maintains a four-second advantage over Britain’s Chris Froome,
who is hoping to become just the third man to win the Tour de France and the
Vuelta in the same year.

After the drama of three-time Grand Tour winner Vincenzo Nibali’s expulsion
from the race on Sunday for being towed by his Astana team car, Monday’s stage
failed to produce any significant changes in the general classification as the
sprinters enjoyed one of the few chances offered to them on this year’s route.

They still had to get over the first category one climb of the tour midway
through the stage, but an initial breakaway group of eight riders was whittled
down and eventually caught 13km from the finish.

And it was finally Sagan’s time on the road into Malaga as he had just
enough to hold off a late surge from Bouhanni to seal the win.

Results from Vuelta third stage,
158.4km ride from Mijas to Malaga, on Sunday:

1. Peter Sagan (SVK/TIN) 4hr 06min 46sec, 2. Nacer Bouhanni (FRA/COF) same
time, 3. John Degenkolb (GER/GIA) s.t., 4. Jempy Drücker (LUX/BMC), 5.
Maximiliano Richeze (ARG/LAM), 6. Kristian Sbaragli (ITA/MTN), 7. Mitch Docker
(AUS/ORI), 8. Jasper Stuyven (BEL/TRE), 9. Vicente Reynes (ESP/IAM), 10. Tom
Van Asbroeck (BEL/LNL), 11. Nikolas Maes (BEL/ETI), 12. Tosh Van der Sande
(BEL/LOT), 13. Dennis van Winden (NED/LNL), 14. Carlos Barbero (ESP/CJR), 15.
Miguel Ángel Rubiano (COL/COL), 16. Mike Teunissen (NED/LNL), 17. Niki
Terpstra (NED/ETI), 18. Jose Goncalves (POR/CJR), 19. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY),
20. Nélson Oliveira (POR/LAM) all same time … 21. Alejandro Valverde
(ESP/MOV) s.t. … 23. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) s.t.

1. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 8hr 04min 01sec, 2. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) at
5sec, 3. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SKY) 15, 4. Daniel Martin (IRL/CAN) 24, 5. Joaquin
Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 35, 6. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 36, 7. Alejandro Valverde
(ESP/MOV) 38, 8. Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) 40, 9. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 40, 10.
Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 47, 11. Mikel Landa (ESP/AST) 51, 12. Romain Sicard
(FRA/EUC) 51, 13. Mikel Nieve (ESP/SKY) 51, 14. Louis Meintjies (RSA/MTN) 52,
15. Tejay Van Garderen (USA/BMC) 55, 16. Domenico Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 1:04,
17. André Cardoso (POR/CAN) 1:04, 18. Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/ETI) 1:04, 19.
Stephane Rossetto (FRA/COF) 1:04, 20. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 1:06

Photo: Cor Vos