Stuyven Wins Crash-Dominated Vuelta 8th Stage


Murcia, Spain, Aug 29, 2015 (AFP) – Belgian Jasper Stuyven took victory
despite suffering a broken bone in his wrist on the eighth stage of Spain’s
Vuelta on a day dominated by high-profile crashes.

Ireland’s Dan Martin, who was lying third in the overall classification
overnight, and American Tejay van Garderen were forced to withdraw from the
race after suffering a heavy crash 50km from the finish.

Van Garderen’s BMC team later confirmed the 27-year-old had suffered a
broken shoulder.

Stuyven edged a sprint finish to the line from Spain’s Pello Bilbao and
Frenchman Kevin Reza to claim the 182.5km stage from Puebla de Don Fadrique to
Murcia in a time of 4hr 06min 06sec.

However, Stuyven’s Trek Factory Racing team revealed he too had suffered
serious damage in the major crash.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Highs and lows @lavuelta today. Turns out that @Jasperstuyven got his
first pro win today with a broken scafoid,” they wrote on their official
Twitter page without stating whether he will continue for the rest of the race.

“I didn’t stay clear of the crashes. I was in the big one which Chaves was
also in before the first big climb. I hit my wrist pretty bad, but I jumped on
the bike again and climbed back,” said Stuyven.

“I suffered a lot on the first climb and then the second time I knew I had
to start at the front so I could drift a little bit back if it was going to be

“In the sprint I felt ‘I’ll go at 300 (metres from the finish)’ and it was
for me today.”

Colombian Esteban Chaves finished in the leading group to maintain his
overall lead by 10 seconds from Tom Dumoulin with Irishman Nicholas Roche a
further 26 seconds behind in third.

Britain’s Chris Froome, who is aiming to become just the third man to win
the Tour de France and Vuelta in the same year, moved into 11th overall, 1min
22sec behind Chaves.

One of the favourites for the stage, France’s Nacer Bouhanni, also had to
withdraw due to injuries suffered in the crash involving Martin and Van

Stage three winner Peter Sagan’s hopes of another victory were ruined after
being hit by an auxiliary motorcycle.

The driver of the motorcycle has been banned from the rest of the tour by
race organisers, but the Slovakian’s Tinkoff-Saxo team said they wouldn’t rule
out taking legal action for the damage suffered.

“Tinkoff-Saxo announces after stage eight of Vuelta a Espana that the team
considers legal actions against the person or persons responsible for crashing
into Peter Sagan with 8.2km to go on the stage,” the Russian team said in a

“A Shimano auxiliary motorbike recklessly and dangerously drove into the
peloton at high speed hitting Peter Sagan in his rear wheel.

“The unacceptable collision caused Peter Sagan to crash and left the rider
with extensive superficial wounds on the left buttocks and leg.

“Sagan was fortunately able to finish the stage but a final medical
examination is yet to be made.”

Chaves were also affected by the major crash as the peloton split just
before the first of two climbs of the category three Alto de la Cresta del

He was led back into the peloton by his Orica GreenEdge team to ensure his
hopes of landing a surprising first Grand Tour victory among a stellar field
remained intact.

“Normally, when you look on the race book it is an easy day, but it was
really hard, really fast, dangerous and with a lot of crashes,” he said.

“The team stayed with me to put me back in the peloton. It was really fast
with a small dangerous climb and descent, but I am happy to again be in the
red jersey.”

Results from the eighth stage of
Spain’s Vuelta, a 182.5km ride from Puebla de Don Fadrique to Murcia on

1. Jasper Stuyven (BEL/TRE) 4hr 06min 05sec, 2. Pello Bilbao (ESP/CJR) same
time, 3. Kevin Reza (FRA/FDJ) s.t., 4. Giovanni Visconti (ITA/MOV) s.t., 5.
Kristian Sbaragli (ITA/MTN) s.t., 6. Tosh Van der Sande (BEL/LOT) s.t., 7.
Julien Simon (FRA/COF) s.t., 8. Pieter Serry (BEL/ETI) s.t., 9. Jose Joaquin
Rojas (ESP/MOV) s.t., 10. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SKY) s.t., 11. Alejandro Valverde
(ESP/MOV) s.t., 12. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) s.t., 13. Jose Goncalves
(POR/CJR) s.t., 14. Eduard Vorganov (RUS/KAT) s.t., 15. Gianluca Brambilla
(ITA/ETI) s.t., 16. Andre Cardoso (POR/CAN) s.t., 17. Kristijan Durasek
(CRO/LAM) s.t., 18. Miguel Angel Rubiano (COL/COL) s.t., 19. Luis Leon Sanchez
(ESP/AST) s.t., 20. Louis Meintjies (RSA/MTN) s.t.

Selected others:
21. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) s.t., 24. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) s.t., 27.
Chris Froome (GBR/SKY) s.t., 28. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) s.t., 36. Fabio
Aru (ITA/AST) s.t.

1. Esteban Chaves (COL/ORI) 31h12min 18sec, 2. Tom Dumoulin (NED/GIA) at
0:10, 3. Nicolas Roche (IRL/SKY) 0:36, 4. Alejandro Valverde (ESP/MOV) 0:49,
5. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP/KAT) 0:56, 6. Nairo Quintana (COL/MOV) 0:57, 7.
Fabio Aru (ITA/AST) 0:57, 8. Daniel Moreno (ESP/KAT) 1:18, 9. Domenico
Pozzovivo (ITA/ALM) 1:19, 10. Mikel Nieve (ESP/SKY) 1:21, 11. Chris Froome
(GBR/SKY) 1:22, 12. Rafal Majka (POL/TIN) 1:29, 13. Mikel Landa (ESP/AST)
1:39, 14. Louis Meintjies (RSA/MTN) 1:51, 15. Sergio Henao (COL/SKY) 2:24, 16.
Gianluca Brambilla (ITA/ETI) 2:25, 17. Samuel Sanchez (ESP/BMC) 2:50, 18.
André Cardoso (POR/CAN) 2:51, 19. Romain Sicard (FRA/EUC) 2:55, 20. Daniel
Navarro (ESP/COF) 3:01.

Photos: Cor Vos