Those who failed to stay home and catch today's closing stage in the Alps, as we strongly recommended, missed precisely the fireworks display we told you was on the way.  So there. Fortunately, all is not lost.  We've noticed that Versus tends to repeat each day's stage about four times (note to Versus:  You are Gods!), so as long as you haven't switched channels, it's still on … [Read more...]

With 8 Stages Complete, We Hold These Truths To Be Self Evident…

Plagiarizing our fore-fathers, there are certain immutable facts with regard to this year's Tour; these are: Team RadioShack is in a world of hurt, faced with relegating their GC prospects to a Levi Leipheimer long-shot.  Otherwise, they're cooked.  Levi's problem is one that countless "lieutenants" experience when they're given a battlefield promotion to General:  They fail.  Lance has … [Read more...]

Team TIBCO/To the Top Kicks Off NRC Pursuit in Redlands

Pescadero, California – At 10:40 a.m. Pacific Time today, the first rider will roll off the start line of the opening prologue of the Redlands Classic, the 3.1-mile Sun Time Trial, marking the beginning of the USA Cycling National Racing Calendar series competition. In 2009, Team TIBCO won the overall NRC team competition, and one of the goals for 2010 is to race to the top once again. The … [Read more...]

World Track Cycling Championship Result Recap

COPENHAGEN, March 25, 2010 (AFP) - Results from the second day of the world track championships on Thursday: Men Individual pursuit Qualifying 1. Jesse Sergent (NZL) 4min 15.988sec, 2. Taylor Phinney (USA) 4:16.102, 3. Jack Bobridge (AUS) 4:17.169, 4. Alexander Serov (RUS) 4:18.356, 5. Rohan Dennis (AUS) 4:19.292, 6. Vitaliy Shchedov (UKR) 4:20.316, 7. Westley Gough (NZL) … [Read more...]

Tour Down Under Stage 1Results

Results on Sunday from the Cancer Council Helpline Classic, a prelude to next week's Tour Down Under: 1. Greg Henderson (NZL) Team Sky 1hr 4 mins 33 secs, 2. Chris Sutton (AUS) Team Sky, 3. Andre Greipel (GER) HTC-Columbia, 4. Robbie McEwen (AUS) Katusha, 5. Baden Cooke (AUS) Saxo Bank, 6. Graeme Brown (AUS) Rabobank, 7. Allan Davis (AUS) Katusha, 8. Jose Rojas (ESP) Caisse … [Read more...]

Philippe Gilbert Winning Streak Continues At Tour of Lombardy

Belgian Philippe Gilbert won his fourth race in a row as his hot streak continued with victory in Saturday's Tour of Lombardy over 242km from Varese to Cuomo. Gilbert beat breakaway companion and Spanish Olympic champion Samuel Sanchez in a two-man sprint to win the last Classic of the season with Russian Alexandre Kolobnev winning the sprint for third, four seconds back. Gilbert had … [Read more...]

Farrar Captures Franco-Belge Title

TOURNAI, Belgium, Oct 4, 2009 (AFP) - America's Tyler Farrar, of the Garmin team, on Sunday won the Franco-Belge race after the fourth and final stage. Farrar had held the overall lead after winning the first two stages. In Sunday's last 147.1km run, between Mons and Tournai, Argentina's Juan Jose Haedo of Saxo Bank finished in front of Yauheni Hutarovich of Belarus and Roger Hammond … [Read more...]

World Road Race Cycling Results

Podium finishers from the world road race cycling championships which ended here Sunday: Men Road race 1. Cadel Evans (AUS) 2. Alexandre Kolobnev (RUS) 3. Joaquin Rodriguez (ESP) Men Time trial 1. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) 2. Gustav Larsson (SWE) 3. Tony Martin (GER) Men under-23 Road race 1. Romain Sicard (FRA) 2. Carlos Alberto Betancur … [Read more...]

World Road Race Results

Results from the second day of the world road race cycling championships on Thursday: Men Time trial (49.8km) 1. Fabian Cancellara (SUI) 57min 55sec, 2. Gustav Larsson (SWE) at 1:27, 3. Tony Martin (GER) 2:30, 4. Tom Zirbel (USA) 2:47, 5. Marco Pinotti (ITA) 3:02, 6. Janez Brajkovic (SLO) 3:08, 7. Koos Moerenhout (NED) 3:11, 8. Alexandre Vinokourov (KAZ) 3:20, 9. Ignatas Konovalovas … [Read more...]

World Road Race Cycling Results

Results from the first day of the world road race cycling championships on Wednesday: Men under-23 Time trial (33.2km) 1. Jack Bobridge (AUS) 40min 44sec, 2. Nelson Oliveira (POR) at 18sec, 3. Patrick Gretsch (GER) 27, 4. Marcel Kittel (GER) 34, 5. Adriano Malori (ITA) 36, 6. Alfredo Balloni (ITA) 39, 7. Alex Dowsett (GBR) 43, 8. Blaz Jarc (SLO) 59, 9. Christian Rasmus Quaade (DEN) … [Read more...]