The Spring Classics Past Winners From 2009

PARIS, April 04, 2014 (AFP) - Winners of the main Spring Classics, due to begin on Sunday with the Tour of Flanders, over the last five years. Cobbled Classics: Tour of Flanders (April 6) 2013 - Fabian Cancellara (SUI) 2012 - Tom Boonen (BEL) 2011 - Nick Nuyens (BEL) 2010 - Fabian Cancellara (SUI) 2009 - Stijn Devolder (BEL) Paris-Roubaix (April 13) … [Read more...]

Profile Of The Upcoming Spring Classics Races

by Barnaby CHESTERMAN PARIS, April 04, 2014 (AFP) - A profile of the five upcoming Spring Classics cycle races: Tour of Flanders One of the five 'Monuments' of the Classics season, the Tour of Flanders was first conceived in 1913 by Karel Van Wijnendaele, the co-founder of the sports newspaper 'Sportwereld'. At that time it was customary for publishers to organise cycling … [Read more...]

La Fleche Wallonne 2011 Final Kilometers – Mur de Huy climb

[Read more...]

Flèche Wallonne and Liege-Bastogne-Liege Route Changes

PARIS, April 14, 2010 (AFP) - The route of the two Belgian Ardennes classics, La Fleche Wallonne and Liege-Bastogne-Liege, next week will include several changes from previous editions. In the Fleche Wallonne (198 km) on Wednesday, the direction of the two loops leading to the final climb of the Mur de Huy was reversed. "So the second ascent is not only about thirty miles from the ultimate … [Read more...]